We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food as expected, service as bad as ever” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Express
39 High Street, Banbury OX16 5ET, England
01295 278 578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 154 Restaurants in Banbury
Price range: $1 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Banbury offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food as expected, service as bad as ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What can you say about Pizza Express in Banbury? The food is as you would expect (good, consistent and enjoyable). It's the service in this place that's the problem. It is poor, and always has been. Every time I go, I hope it will be better, but it never is. I'm guessing the issue is high staff turnover / lack of training. The usual issues: not seated quickly enough, too long until drinks orders are taken, tables not cleared after starter until main course arrives, slow on desserts / coffees. Simple stuff, but clearly beyond this particular Pizza Express. Last night was the last time: next time I'll go to Bicester.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    30
    18
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Treat for Mother”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dined here on an Orange Wednesday (BOGOF). Went early to avoid the rush. Had the lovely dough balls to start and chose the Leggera Pollo ad Astra and got Caprissiosa free. Love the Leggera range I manage to eat the whole pizza with it being a thinner crust and a hole filled with rocket without feeling stuffed. My mothers pizza was a bit on the salty side due the fillings (anchovies/ham hock/capers/olives). The waitress Holly was very pleasent and efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Nicer than the usual pizza express, though service can be quite slow. The pizzas are usually good and they will alter them to our preference. On this occasion, I had the vegetarian Cannelloni which was not great, mainly because the white sauce on top had a very synthetic texture which was quite horrible. It felt more like a microwave meal than a freshly prepared dish. Pizza next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Not been to Pizza express in a while, but enjoyed the food here very much, plenty of interesting choices, not sure if thats the norm now, I expect it is, but we were impressed so will pay another visit to Pizza express soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Care”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

With any ubiquitous high street chain you know what to expect in terms of centralized food distribution and formulaic interiors. Customer care however is a pillar of brand building and standardization. It seems to have passed the Banbury outlet completely on the one and only occasion that I will eat there. I have nothing against Pizza Express restaurants generally, they offer consistent fodder and are good for feeding and entertaining hungry children for an hours or so, however the are poor at addressing customer concerns. Food is as expected - made centrally and delivered by lorry to an outlet near you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.