We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent harvester.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Honey Pot Harvester

The Honey Pot Harvester
Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3TJ, England
01268 524113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 95 Restaurants in Basildon
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At The Honey Pot Harvester in Basildon food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Basildon, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Laindon, Wickford and Pitsea, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent harvester.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

This is my local harvester of choice, generally find that all aspects are quite good here, its not a special occasion destination but as a frequent, can't be bothered to cook location you shouldn't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    32
    26
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“All chicken'd out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We went for a meal there and whilst other relatives think its not a bad experience, where you have a menu that has about 12 dishes that feature chicken it does leave someone who does not enjoy over cooked chicken much choice.
The menu is uninspiring and dull, the choices are lmited the food is poor institutional mass catering

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“great for a large Spur-of-the-moment family meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Good if there are a lot of you celebrating at a reasonable price

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Harvesting bad reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Generally speaking, the Harvester offers a tried and tested formula ie fair food at a fair price but, when things go wrong, they go wrong big time!
the starter bowls were all dirty (dishwasher problem?) our main meals took 40 mins to arrive and, when complaining, we became even more frustrated!
Finally the manager agreed that our experience was far from acceptable and agreed to waive the cost entirely but, despite this, we would seriously consider not returning for a repeat visit.
Even the hand drier in the toilets didnt work! One to avoid!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“87th Birthday Ruined”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Absolutely disgusted with The Honeypot Harvester at Basildon for ruining our family celebration of mum's 87th birthday . She'd been in the local hospital for around 4 weeks and just got out in time for Xmas, but was so looking forward to sharing a meal with us all on her birthday. We all met up just after 5pm and immediately got a table for 8 no problem and by 5.15 the waitress (I can just about refrain from naming and shaming her...) had taken our drinks and food orders, with nearly an hour and a half before I had to leave for work with my son who had a childminder booked at 7pm. Three times my sister enquired about our food being ready yet and at HALF PAST SIX the same girl finally came over and admitted she had "forgotten" to put the food order in the kitchen. My son and I left five minutes later having just had a coke and a bowl of salad each, mum was very upset, my relatives angry and apparently they all left soon after us and ate somewhere else. We love Harvester but won't be using this particular restaurant again...hugely unimpressed with the service received from the various staff we dealt with and indeed the manager's response. Would have been nice to have had a meal to review as well !!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Honey Pot Harvester also viewed

 

Been to The Honey Pot Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Honey Pot Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.