We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a weekend and no more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Basildon South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Basildon South to your Saves list
Premier Inn Basildon South
High Road - Fobbing | Stanford le Hope, Basildon SS17 9NR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok for a weekend and no more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for eight nights and it was far too long as no other hotels were available in the area or Basildon.
The room was small, the bed taking up most of the floor space making it difficult to move around when you were both out of bed together. We are average in size and not large people. The adjoining restaurant was average for meals and with the stairs running onto different levels
could pose a hazard for the less agile or infirm. If you do stay there,a laundry is about 5 minutes drive from the hotel but you will have to ask at reception. The reception staff were excellent and the lady in the morning serving breakfast was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Was in a room on a higher floor facing the roundabout it could be noisy with traffic. If you have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    43
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
38
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and I recently came to the Basildon area to attend wedding and when arranging a hotel as we knew we wouldn't be in the room for too long we decided to pick a place based on both price and popularity. I booked a room for my partner and I several months in advance at a price of £39.

In all honesty as the room was so cheap we weren't expecting too much. However, we were pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were greeted by a very informative and friendly receptionist and felt very welcome. As we were running late for a local wedding reception we asked if a taxi could be booked- this was done straight away without fuss and you could tell that should you have any problems during your stay the staff would be happy to help you.

The room was very spacious and clean and what you would expect from a Premier Inn- basic but comfortable. The decor was a little old fashioned, the ceiling was a little bit creaky when people were walking around in the room above and you are given keys to your room rather than key cards but to be honest given the bargain price these are not issues worth grumbling about.

Although we didn't spend too much time in the room the time we did spend was nice enough and we would definitely come back if we were in the area. Would advise others that if they want a cheap, comfortable and cheerful stay in Basildon that- The Only Way is Premier Inn!!!

Room Tip: Book in advance for cheaper rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky B, Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear franmc3,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay with us at Basildon South Premier Inn.
It is important to us that all our guests have a great nights sleep and an enjoyable stay. I am delighted that we have exceeded your expectations and I will pass your comments on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again here at Basildon South Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Don't bother staying here unless you can sleep through the doors banging until 3 am, I had porridge which sad to say wasn't cooked was still raw! I had previously phoned the hotel to book the room and expressed a wish for a quite room, doesn't say much if we stayed in a normal room!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Basildon South, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel staff are absolutely super, the bed comfortable, the room scrupulously clean, the hotel one of the quietest I have ever stayed in, the staff have bent over backwards to help me with a few problems that I would have anywhere, and that the Beefeater next door is totally top-notch with the quality of food and service. But, the following things were glaring omissions for me personally:

1) no air conditioning - the staff gave me an oscillating fan, but it was often still a struggle to keep the room at a comfortable temperature

2) No digital alarm clock provided with the room - it's irritating to have to turn on a light and look at my watch to tell the time at night

3) No electronic room key - the hotel uses traditional, metal keys that are kept at the front desk and the guest asks for the key by room number

4) too few electric outlets - there is no place to plug in an appliance at the bedside, so I couldn't even bring in my own clock radio except for a cordless one

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception desk. My room was a hike to the other end of the hotel, passin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel really knows how to look after guests! Warm friendly staff all very helpful & informative.The room was spotlessly clean,spacious & even a little fan was left on for our arrival (what a nice touch on a hot night!) Never stayed at a premier inn before but will not hesitate to book another.Well done to all the team in particular the housekeeping team for making it a very pleasant stay,Thankyou Jay & Mike

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adey S, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear busterStaffordshire,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are very glad that we made your stay a comfortable one by exceeding your expectations always.

Your comments have been passed on to our Housekeeping Team. For them it is a pleasure your enjoyed your stay and you find our rooms very clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with soon at Premier Inn Basildon South and continue to make your stay a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Great clean hotel. 3 pound for all day fast WiFi. Can't get better. Great restaurant next door as well.staff friendly and helpful highly recommend premier. My room was massive with a great couch. These words to fill up review.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adey S, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Mr MrVanPeebles,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay here with us.

We are happy to hear that you found our WIFI charges a Bargain! and that you find our stay staff friendly and helpful.

All staff are overwhelmed with your feedback and here at Premier Inn Basildon South, we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

You honestly can't go wrong. Obviously this isn't going to be 5* luxury, however it really is very good value for money. Nice location, clean and tidy room (with an extremely comfortable bed), friendly service and good grub. Many thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adey S, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Olivia R,

Here at the Premier Inn Basildon South, we take great pride in ensuring each and every guest has an enjoyable experience.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us

From all the staff here we are glad you had a great stay and hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Basildon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon South

Address: High Road - Fobbing | Stanford le Hope, Basildon SS17 9NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 5 minutes from Wat Tyler Country Park where there is a craft shop, large adventure playground, motorboat museum and miniature railway. For shopping, Lakeside and Eastgate shopping centres are nearby. Coal House Fort is just 5 minutes away. Our Basildon South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, free parking, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon South Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Basildon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.