We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harvester, Basildon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvester Langdon Hills

Harvester Langdon Hills
High Road | Langdon Hills, Basildon SS16 6HU, England
01268544714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 99 Restaurants in Basildon
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Harvester Langdon Hills in Basildon food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Harvester, Basildon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Friends recently took us to this restaurant & had fantastic meal. Booked table, (able to book as party of 8), which was ready upon arrival. Staff were really friendly, and food was very tasty. Lovely fresh Salad Cart, and enormous desserts. Totally stuffed afterwards! Enjoyable time had by all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    14
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwood
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very positive experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We couldn't book in advance but the staff (esp. Tanzi) bent over backwards to accommodate the 12 of us for a family meal and the waiter Jon did very well on his first night!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love this branch of harvester and one member of staff really made our visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We really enjoy coming to this branch and go out of our way to come here. We popped in for an evening meal recently and it was made even better by one member of staff, she was very helpful very polite and really kept up with our needs, she checked on us often and made sure we were ok for drinks and sides etc. This really made our evening as not only was she helpful but she always had a smile even though they were quite busy. This made us feel really valued as customers and made us excited for our next visit!

I also decided to be adventurous and try a different dish! I decided to have salmon, green beans and new potatoes and OMG!!! It was cooked to perfection! What an amazing dish! I will be having that again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordheuwel, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disgustingly dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The floors looked liked they hadnt been cleaned for a week, droppings of food all over, tables sticky, dirty knives and forks, Salad bar a mess.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Used to like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We used to come here often as we live within walking distance but it has put me off Harvester restaurants now. We got fed up with the waiting way over half an hour for a table everytime when the restaurant always had lots of empty tables. (Ploy to get you to buy more drinks?) It was always so hot in the restaurant as well as they have no air conditioning with an open kitchen!
I always used to have the Spit Roast chicken. I loved it as it was always so juicy and fell off the bone. Then about 2 years ago it started being served up dry and cold like it had been sitting in the oven for hours so I switched to
the harvester fried chicken. They are so unaccomodating here as this comes with a BBQ sauce which I don't like. This is the only Harvester I've ever been to who won't swop this for the Piri piri sauce. They wanted to charge me something stupid like £1.30 for it.
They frequently run out of things, rolls, corn on the cob, sauces, potato salad it's quite ridiculous.
Like I said we used to go probably a couple of times a month. Now I haven't been to any Harvester for at least 5/6 months.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester Langdon Hills also viewed

 
Rayleigh, Essex
 

Been to Harvester Langdon Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvester Langdon Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.