We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne to your Saves list
Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne
Felmores, E Mayne, Basildon SS13 1BW, England (Formerly Watermill Travel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Basildon
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here recently following a trip to Basildon for a family funeral. Clean and comfortable hotel with an adjoining Beefeater restaurant where breakfast was served. We arrived early and were allowed to check in with no fuss or problem. Staff at reception and later at breakfast most helpful and friendly. In fact we had a meal in the restaurant on the night of our arrival and were treated to the same helpful and friendly service. Good choice of menu and meals we had were very enjoyable. Conveniently situated and very quiet. Premier Inns pride themselves on you having a great nights sleep and they certainly delivered. I would definitely use this hotel again if I am in the area. Top marks, thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina A, Manager at Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a lovely 5 star review. The team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we delivered our promise to you. I am glad to hear all our staff were friendly and you had the same service in both reception and restaurant. I will pass on your feedback to the restaurant too. Thank you

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
33
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed in a family room which was lovely and clean and large. Staff friendly and helpful. This premier inn has recently had a large extension built onto the original and is much nicer and modern than the original build. I've stayed in the old bit before and found whilst the rooms were clean, the noise from outside was loud, from the road, the pub etc, but the new part is outstanding. Had a premier breakfast which was a bit pricey for £8.25 but worth it. And 2 kids eat free for every adult who buys breakfast. I stay here when I'm visiting relatives but can't always get a good room rate. I do think the rooms can be a bit over priced but got a fantastic deal of £58 for 2 nights over the new year period.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina A, Manager at Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely 5 star review. I am very happy to hear you a had an enjoyable stay with us and you found our rooms to be clean and spacious. When booking please visit our website for our best available rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very good and helpful staff throughout the hotel. The room was quite adequate for our stay. The location was good for us visiting family over the Christmas period and close to amenities ,ie fuel and newspapers although they were available by evening before order. Conveniently close to breakfast restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina A, Manager at Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff helped making your stay good.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALICANTE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked for 2 nights last weekend of October. Reception staff polite and helpful. Room a little smaller than other Premier Inns we have stayed in and the lighting was not the best. Bed very comfortable, linen and towels the usual good standard. Room was clean although we did find a pair of socks on the floor. No issue with noise either from the attached Beefeater or the road even with the window open. No noise from the corridor. Had breakfast one morning, had better in all honesty - sausages pale, hash browns very thin and the whole cooked breakfast was a bit greasy but the serve yourself part was very good. Had a meal on the Sunday night which was well presented tasted good. The Wychwood Hobgoblin was well kept.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The room was ok apart from the lighting was very poor - no centre ceiling light just side lights, not the best at this time of year.
Reception staff did not pass on our dinner reservation to the Beefeater attached. Luckily the restaurant found us a table even though they were very busy as it was a Saturday night. All in all not the best premier inn I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here on 19th October as we were visiting our daughter again. Staff on reception great - very friendly, room spotless as usual and does what is says on the tin. Bed comfy and linen and towels great. The only thing that lets this premier inn down is the pub next door. We went for a drink and I must say it was very grubby in there, dirty tables and bar and the clientele was something else - as mentioned in another review it is very rough !!! We had breakfast last time we stayed and again found it all very grubby - I definitely would not eat in there again. Other than that, we will come back to the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this Inn for three evenings whilst visiting relatives. The reception staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Rooms as always were clean and comfortable.
Downside was the ambience caused by the adjoining pub. Rough would be a compliment. You had the feeling that you were in East London during the Jack the Ripper days. I was born and grew up in East London so have a good idea of what to expect. We had one drink and called it a day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the patio area of the pub. The language overheard was dreadful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne

Address: Felmores, E Mayne, Basildon SS13 1BW, England (Formerly Watermill Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Basildon East Mayne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.