We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London to your Saves list
Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A127 Southend Arterial Road | Pipps Hill, Basildon SS14 3AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Wallsend,England.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago booked by my works Booked for two nights stayed one but will never stay in a campanile again it was quite unerving staying there and the only thing missing I felt was the chalk outline of a dead body on the floor. The only reason I gave it one star was for the staff who were very nice.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My colleague and I had the misfortune to stay at this 'venue' I wouldn't call it a hotel. The reason why we stayed here was because it was booked on our behalf by our head office. The hotel was shabby dark and dank. Peeling paint and rotting wood work everywhere. It looked as if it was housing refugees or the homeless. We decided to stay but to eat off the site as the menu was not that appealing. My room was number 38 on the ground floor on the end. Holes in the bathroom door filled rather badly with polyfilla, a sign for a bottle opener on the wall with no bottle opener in situ. A single curtain for the front window that did not cover the window for privacy. An extension lead hanging from a plug at the top of the window just hanging there. No small hand towel. The overpowering smell of air freshener when you walked into the room was appalling it made me choke. You may think that was a nice touch but really it was to mask the smell of the room. Yes the bed was clean, the towels were spotless. But at 12.15 am to find that my bedroom floor was soaking wet from what must have been a constant leak from a long standing problem and to listen to a drip drip drip was not my idea of fun as I had a 6.00 am start. I called the reception and was moved to another room on the top floor by the night manager.

The only redeeming factor of this 'venue' was the staff who were courteous especially the lady who served breakfast in the morning. What a breath of fresh air she was a 'lovely lady'. The presentation of the breakfast was pretty good I have to say and beautifully cooked.

But I have to say 'Never ever again'!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Basildon hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Definately not what we expected, this is more like camp site chalets, (maybe the name speaks for itself) or, what has already been described, a motel. The rooms were clean enough but very basic. Beds were comfortable though. No frontage to the hanging space and no drawers for storage. Shower good but the whole place steamed up causing a very damp atmosphere.Not double glazed. Only one bath towel, no hand towel. Thought that breakfast was expensive, but had good choice. The whole place looked as if it could do with a major overhaul.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room to avoid noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaLin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

For the price you pay this hotel is really a bargain ! The room was clean everyday,kettle,coffee,milk and sugar everyday and when i asked for an iron,i was provided with one for a whole week,with a small ironing board too ! We had breakfast everyday and it was really the best,my husband took english and me continental,the croissants were really delicious! If i go to UK again for sure i will go to Campanile!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetteabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not really a hotel more of a motel. The rooms were quite ok for a budget hotel but was let down on two points.
1. No hand towels, they do not provide them but expect you to use the same towel that you used for bath/shower even if they are wet.
2. They could not afford to provide a curtain that would cover both ends of the window so you have a gap for people to look in at night.
Feel that the owners need to look at what they are providing as the above does not encourage return visits.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutton-o-S-DogWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Staff were all very friendly and helpful. But this is a budget hotel and it is easy to see why. In fact 'hotel' is a misnomer; it is more like a motel and you can park your car almost outside the door to your chalet. Everywhere was clean and the beds comfortable. Bit the whole campus looked dilapidated and in need of a complete makeover. The colour scheme throughout is dark brown and beige - yuk! Even the doors to the chalets are black - awful! For goodness sake put some colour into the place. Noise from the adjacent A127 was almost unbearable. It seemed to me that the excellent staff were working against all the odds and they deserve better. So do we customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the 127 as possible. And check that you can get a WiFi connection, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The reception staff were really helpful at check in. We were travelling with our two small dogs and they made us feel very welcome. The room was quite a good size (great as the dogs seem to take up so much space!) and free WiFi was available in the room.
The room and bathroom was clean but slightly tired looking. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't seem to work, or if it did it was ineffectual. This did make the room quite humid.
The car park was close to the rooms and always had a space.
We did eat our evening meal in the restaurant which was amazing value (2 for the price of 1 night) and quite acceptable as we didn't want to venture far.

Room Tip: Towards the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn  Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London

Address: A127 Southend Arterial Road | Pipps Hill, Basildon SS14 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Basildon - East Of London Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing