We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot call this a Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London to your Saves list
Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A127 Southend Arterial Road | Pipps Hill, Basildon SS14 3AE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cannot call this a Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Definately not what we expected, this is more like camp site chalets, (maybe the name speaks for itself) or, what has already been described, a motel. The rooms were clean enough but very basic. Beds were comfortable though. No frontage to the hanging space and no drawers for storage. Shower good but the whole place steamed up causing a very damp atmosphere.Not double glazed. Only one bath towel, no hand towel. Thought that breakfast was expensive, but had good choice. The whole place looked as if it could do with a major overhaul.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room to avoid noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    34
    31
    44
See reviews for
21
40
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

For the price you pay this hotel is really a bargain ! The room was clean everyday,kettle,coffee,milk and sugar everyday and when i asked for an iron,i was provided with one for a whole week,with a small ironing board too ! We had breakfast everyday and it was really the best,my husband took english and me continental,the croissants were really delicious! If i go to UK again for sure i will go to Campanile!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not really a hotel more of a motel. The rooms were quite ok for a budget hotel but was let down on two points.
1. No hand towels, they do not provide them but expect you to use the same towel that you used for bath/shower even if they are wet.
2. They could not afford to provide a curtain that would cover both ends of the window so you have a gap for people to look in at night.
Feel that the owners need to look at what they are providing as the above does not encourage return visits.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Staff were all very friendly and helpful. But this is a budget hotel and it is easy to see why. In fact 'hotel' is a misnomer; it is more like a motel and you can park your car almost outside the door to your chalet. Everywhere was clean and the beds comfortable. Bit the whole campus looked dilapidated and in need of a complete makeover. The colour scheme throughout is dark brown and beige - yuk! Even the doors to the chalets are black - awful! For goodness sake put some colour into the place. Noise from the adjacent A127 was almost unbearable. It seemed to me that the excellent staff were working against all the odds and they deserve better. So do we customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the 127 as possible. And check that you can get a WiFi connection, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The reception staff were really helpful at check in. We were travelling with our two small dogs and they made us feel very welcome. The room was quite a good size (great as the dogs seem to take up so much space!) and free WiFi was available in the room.
The room and bathroom was clean but slightly tired looking. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't seem to work, or if it did it was ineffectual. This did make the room quite humid.
The car park was close to the rooms and always had a space.
We did eat our evening meal in the restaurant which was amazing value (2 for the price of 1 night) and quite acceptable as we didn't want to venture far.

Room Tip: Towards the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I travelled around Essex, Basildon, Southend, Brentwood for the bank holiday weekend. The location is perfect, easy access to wherever you need to go and close to Festival, which is where the nightclubs and restaurants in Basildon are. We never ate at their restaurant, so can't comment.
Negatives- Room was so hot, and only has one window in the room, and we didn't feel safe to leave it open during the night as anyone could have easily climbed in. the shower was rubbish, a big of water dribbled out and as the bathroom had no window it made the room even hotter.
Positives- Free WIFI, big TV, cleaner came and made the bed etc every day, staff at reception were helpful, free carpark and we always got a space.

For the price we paid we can't complain, £160 for a double room for 3 nights!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked a three night stay here as we had given our daughter and her friend a lift to V-festival. We only wanted a base so that we could explore the surrounding area having never visited Essex before. Our mistake was pre-paying for the hotel, as once we had seen the room, we both decided we couldn't stay! It was dirty, small, too hot and I couldn't even think about taking my shoes off and stepping on the carpet! In the half hour we were there, the human traffic walking past our second floor room was noisy and non-stop. A costly mistake that we won't be repeating!!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London

Address: A127 Southend Arterial Road | Pipps Hill, Basildon SS14 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Basildon - East Of London Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Hotel Basildon - East of London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.