We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Saturday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbine Restaurant

Columbine Restaurant
7 Hall Bank, Buxton SK17 6EW, England
+44 (0)1298 78752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Saturday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The first time we have eaten in Buxton and well worth the drive . I found this restaurant using trip advisor and it was excellent . Locally sourced food which is always a good ethic to support local suppliers. The pork medallions were lovely! Really good value for money even with a great bottle of wine or two ! Will definitely return

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review of your first visit to Columbine Restaurant. We're delighted that you had a good time and a lovely meal. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming back to the restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    33
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
2 reviews
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My partner and I dined here last night. Having had a traumatic road accident that day, we were looking forward to a relaxing and tasty meal. We had read the reviews on trip advisor so felt quite confident that we would enjoy the evening. Nothing could be further from the truth. We were greeted very warmly and our jackets taken for us, we ordered a lovely bottle of wine and chose our dishes. The wine was lovely, however, the food was absolutely dreadful. Our starters were average, we ate them hoping that the mains would be better. My partner had the belly pork starter and I had the smoked salmon and prawn parcel. The main courses were appalling, my partners rib eye steak, although cooked medium as he asked was unbelievably tough and completely tasteless, I tried a small piece and I'm embarrassed to say that I had to spit it out as I couldn't chew it. I had the lamb pie, the pastry was burnt, the gravy was very tasty but the lamb was so tough, I struggled identifying the meat. Neither of us ate much of our mains. We eat out fairly often and holiday in the UK in various cities/towns, I can confidently say that it was the worst meal we have ever had. I will be honest though, when we raised these issues with the waiting staff, or owner? she merely fetched our coats and apologised. We would have paid for the wine and something towards our starters but they didn't ask for anything. I am sorry to give such a bad review but it is how the two of us felt about our experience. We shall not be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback re-iterating the comments you made on your visit to our restaurant. Once again apologies that you felt that we did not live up to the standards you'd read about on tripadvisor, which the majority of the reviewers talk about.
Hopefully you have now recovered from your car accident, from the description you gave to the neighbouring table it sounded very dramatic, it must have been very unsettling for you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Taste buds titillated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very impressive service looked as though it had been choreographed but without losing a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. This however was topped by the menu, and really interesting and well cooked food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of your visit to Columbine Restaurant, Anne and I were delighted with your description of our service, and Steve really appreciates that not only did you enjoy the food but you also liked the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A very nice restaurant that seems generally well recommended.
Not sure what to expect on first visit but happily will go again second time..
Staff lovely and helpful and food vg indeed.
What might have achieved top marks from us?
Red wine served bit chilly.
Medium rare steak served rare -- the small things you note but don't send back
Restaurant decor -- perhaps not too important but felt could be brighter and warmer
Regardless probably one of the best in Buxton

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Columbine Restaurant. It can be difficult choosing a restaurant that you have never visited before, but as you mention we are well regarded and we are pleased that you took the recommendations and decided to eat with us. We are delighted that on the whole you did enjoy your evening and would visit us again.
Regarding the pointers that would have have made 5*, we would have liked the opportunity to put the first two right, although of course ideally we should have got it right 1st time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went for valentines day meal, brilliant food and value for money, added extras such as welcome drinks, petite fours and a rose at the end was lovely. Brilliant staff and great value forwent, would recommend to anyone

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of Columbine Restaurant. We do do a special Valentine's Day menu inclusive of lots of extras and we are delighted that you had a lovely evening. Perhaps you might become one of the many regulars we have for this romantic night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbine Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Columbine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbine Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.