We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbine Restaurant

Columbine Restaurant
7 Hall Bank, Buxton SK17 6EW, England
+44 (0)1298 78752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bolsover, United Kingdom
1 review
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

me and my 3 friends eat here on thursday eveing before going to see ken dodd i had book the table by phone and was told it would be better to be eariler so we arrived at 18.00 we sat at our table and i ask for a jug of water we where brought that and bread with oils we look at menu i had look at online menu and was going to have the duck but the pie had change to lamb pie best meat so i order that my friends order the pork-sea bass and the cod i ask if i could have mash they only had new pots. may i should have ask when i phone the food was cook fresh and as being a retied chef i found this very pleaseing the food arrived and my pie came on it own plate and i try to put it on dinner plate but made a right fool of myself and gravy soak napkink which i am very sorry for anyway the best i have out for a long long time am looking to my next visit and what ended up to being a great night thank you so very much

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of your night out last week- starting with your pre theatre meal before seeing Ken Dodd at the opera house.
You reference looking at our web site prior to your visit ,and as you mentioned ,by the time you visited (2 days later) a couple of the dishes had changed- an advantage of using fresh food and self printing our menus- but we're glad you felt the lamb pie was a good choice (and don't worry the napkin came up as good as new!)
Hopefully we'll see you again perhaps the next time you visit the opera house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    33
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Columbine is a short walk up a rather steep hill from the centre of town. It is somewhat unprepossessing from outside but well worth a visit.
The menu is not extensive but is supplemented by well thought out specials; together, there is a wide range of dishes almost every one of which we could have chosen. In particular, the two fish dishes chosen (sea bass and a hake special) were perfectly cooked.
The clientele seemed a mixture of locals and visitors and the service was friendly and efficient.
For beer lovers, they have a local bottled beer available that is top notch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Columbine Restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the choices you made- despite having to climb Hall Bank first!! There's not very many flat areas in Buxton.
I'm sure Geoff at Buxton Brewery Co will be delighted that his beer got a mention. We tend to alternate between 3 types, as they are so popular, both here and abroad, that they struggle to keep production up with demand,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rather good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I dined at Columbine on the back of other reviews here. We visited on a Saturday night in March. Although there was only one other couple when we arrived by the time we left it was busy.
We were sat at our table and brought bread and oil while we perused the small but enticing menu. I chose a japanese chicken starter followed by crab and salmon fishcakes. My wife had rabbit terrine and chicken and ham pie. My starter was ok. Nice melt in the mouth chicken but no great flavour. The main course had a lovely flavour, full of fish and not a potato cake as so many are. The tomato and basil sauce was good. Potatoes and veg were fresh and not over done. My wife was pleased with her choices.
For desert we chose a sharing platter of white chocolate cheesecake, ice cream and brandy snap, honeycomb, treacle tart and fudge brownie. A huge sugar rush. Good but a bit excessive. A viognier, lacking a wine cooler but othewise pleasant, washed the whole meal down well.
A reasonable £76 bill was paid at the end of a pleasant meal. Would we return? Yes, and there is no better recommendation than that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review. We're sorry you didn't find the chicken very flavoursome, perhaps the chilli dip and pickled ginger in the salad overpowdered it?
But we are very pleased that the rest of the meal was enjoyable, admittedly the sharing
pud is very indulgent, but to try 5 puds in one go is just too good an opportunity to miss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a charming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went for a meal here before a concert at the Opera House. The food was delicious and sourced locally where possible. My lamb was so tasty. Fantastic dessert platter for two made such a change from only having one pudding, you really must try this when you go.
Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review about your visit to Columbine Restaurant. We are really pleased you enjoyed your meal - and yes the sharing pud is delicious- some nights you'd think there was nothing else on the puds menu!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

As a group of 4 friends visiting Buxton for a pre-Christmas event, we booked ahead for a Friday night out. The Christmas special menu was very good value and simply delicious. The Lamb suet pudding was excellent. Do try it. Staff were very friendly, attentive, and gave us comfortable breaks before the next course arrived. The portion sizes were generous. We'll go there again. Its nicely away from the hub of theatre-goers, and worth the walk up the hill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim m, Owner at Columbine Restaurant, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on the Columbine, especially as the the
run up to Christmas can be busy , when there aren't enough minutes in the day. We're glad you tried the lamb pud from the festive menu, we were concerned that our customers might think it would be too filling, but we're pleased that hasn't been the case and we have had more 'delicious' comments.
Hopefully if you get back back to Buxton you will have the chance to come back to the restaurant , but in the mean time Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, to you and your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbine Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Columbine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbine Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.