We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning... A little piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grosvenor House
Save
You added Grosvenor House to your Saves list
1 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning... A little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome by our hosts Pat & Joan.The guest house is warm and clean with a large selection of local pictures and photographs adding lots of 'history' to the building and surrounding area. The room itself was wonderfully warm and comfortable, beautiful period furniture gave the room a very authentic 1900's feel which We absolutely loved. After a very comfortable and restful night we rose early and went for breakfast.... Oh my goodness me what a breakfast it was! Fantastic service and a delicious breakfast especially the homemade orange and ginger marmalade. Our next visit was booked in less than 24hrs of leaving! We loved it.

Helen & Scott Gregson-Smith

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
55
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Buxton recently on a whim and we found this lovely b&b. The hosts were friendly and very welcoming. Rooms were nice as was the breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

On first arriving you are made to feel welcome in a warm and pleasent atmosphere, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable, the breakfast was so well cooked and was eaten over looking the park, The furnishings are like walking back in time to an elegant era. This is one of the rare gems that once tried you will want to go back. We are.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night and were very pleased with the whole experience. Great central location and a superb view over the park. Room was very clean, well appointed and comfortable with lots of 'home' touches. The food was superb in the morning with a huge choice. Definitely a first choice if you are ever in Buxton.

Room Tip: The view from the top floor front over the park is just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here for a night and was a pleasant experience. Right in the heart of the town within walking distance to local shops, pubs and restaurants. Parking provided by a free permit from the owners. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice. Recommended.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Had a lovely stay at Grosvenor House in Buxton. Pat and Joan couldn't have been more accommodating. We arrived really late (nearly 11pm) due to hideous traffic and they didn't seem at all put out. The room was lovely, warm, comfortable with great little touches like real coffee and a cafetiere in the bedroom. Great choice at breakfast and plenty of advise on what to do and where to go. Would recommend if planning a trip to Buxton you book a few nights at Grosvenor House.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed with my husband for a long weekend.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the hotel, the interior was sumptuous and beautiful as the rest of the bed and breakfast.
The room was wonderfully warm.
I'm so glad stumbled across this bed and breakfast.
The male owner, however was a little reserved and we felt we were putting him out a little during breakfast, and he didn't like to talk much. However, later in the day he was quite chatty.

Highly recommended and I would most certainly stay again!!
Thanks Grosvenor House.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House

Address: 1 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.