We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful treat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westminster Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Westminster Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westminster Hotel
21 Broad walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Buxton
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful treat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had been treated by family to attend a concert at the Buxton opera house last weekend. We were fortunate enough to stay in a lake view room , which also overlooked the pavilion gardens. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Smallish ensuite bathroom but adequate . We were made very welcome on arrival and pointed in the right direction for the local attractions. The room was very nicely decorated and facilities of a good standard. Breakfast was a delightful experience as everybody dined together . Tables were for four or two people. We helped ourselves to juices , cereals , etc. but breakfast orders were waitress service, and what a wonderful breakfast it was. Eggs , bacon, sausage, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, fried bread, toast , toast and more toast. Oh ! And my favourite , maybe not yours , Blackpudding. Brill. All in all , we had a great stay at this lovely friendly hotel. In easy walkin distance of all local amenities., and on the doorstep of the Opera house. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for your future visit and we will definitely return .

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
59
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location overlooking a beautiful park and lake. But that is it's best attribute. It is just very average, and a bit run down. My husband said it lacked warmth. Compared to the other places we stayed on our 2 week trip it was disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here one night in September very friendly lovely dog!!
The room was spacious and it came with a bath - excellent.
Breakfast was superb plenty to eat.
Easy to walk into the town.
Would recommend a stay here..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for three nights from the 23-8 13 to the 26-8 13.the good points are the hotel is in a great situation by the park. The rooms are very clean ,the beds are comfortable enough for a decent sleep.the breakfast is very good and can be varied.the bathrooms are small with a shower & toilet,though our shower door would not shut properly.the shower in our room was adequate,but our friends in the room across the hallway had very little shower pressure.we were on the top floor up three flights of stairs and there are no lifts so people need to be reasonably fit to stay on the top floor. A nice touch is an honesty bar in the lounge , you pour yourself a drink & write down what you've had. I would stay here again if the deal was right.the hotel owners we're away so we had stand in people looking after us and they were excellent, nothing was to much trouble for them

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here on 17th to 19th August in room number 12 which was at the back. The hotel/B&B was fully booked and although we didn't have a front room with a view, we found the room to be clean and comfortable (tv was on the small side). I rated the sleep quality a little lower as the bed was not as soft as I would like (but thats probably just my preference)
The hotel has a nice friendly atmosphere and is well cared for. The dining room was lovely with nice table cloths and napkins. The breakfast was good and service was quick even though they were busy.
It is a short, pleasant waIk to the Pavilion gardens and opera house.
Good value and I would happily recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you want a simple bedroom with basic facilities and a good breakfast in homely surroundings then this hotel fits the bill.
Feels like you are staying in an elderly aunts house. Not a bad thing but not very professional
It was clean on the surface but bedroom and bathroom needed a proper good clean
I guess they know their market and cater to it and because Buxton was full due to the G&S festival then we had little choice..... but I would go back if all I wanted was a B&B or Guest House feel
There was no reception service and no bar or food facilities were offered ( apart from breakfast)

Room Tip: The park side has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a B&B with 12 rooms. Restricted time to have the breakfast so it is rather bizzy between 8 and 9.
The faboulus view is only when you have a room at the front. We did not...
The parking is small and be carefull : read the website very well to have the right address as you cannot drive to the hotel address.
This b@b is very well located and if the weather is fine, you can walk to the city centre for an evening meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westminster Hotel

Address: 21 Broad walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westminster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.