We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Panda

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Great Panda
7 Eagle Parade, Buxton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 88 Restaurants in Buxton
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Got a take away from here. Quick service and lovely food! Especialy the prawn crackers! Shame about the rude delivery girl

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    6
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have visited this restaurant a few time now and I have never had a bad meal. Its Chinese food at its best! I would defiantly recommend the seaweed! Never been disappointed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Could be a little 'friendlier' but great food and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Service in the Great Panda has always been 'efficient' rather than friendly but the food is excellent and great value for money. We have been coming here for about 14 years and have never been disappointed

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'd taken my daughter back to Uni in Buxton and we wanted a meal. She has used the Great Panda as a takeaway in the past but never eaten there.

This is where the problem comes - the place looks like it was decorated 30 years ago and the food is severed in the same way, knife and fork and plates, I can't remember the last time I ate Chinese with out chopsticks. It has transport cafe tables, with covers and this made me think that the food would be the same.

The surprise was the quality of the food. The Dim-sum was very good and more varied than most restaurants and the duck and main were good too.

So don't be put off its not romantic but it was good grub!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Panda also viewed

Buxton, Derbyshire
Bramhall, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Great Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Panda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.