We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic bed and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staden Grange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Staden Grange to your Saves list
Staden Grange
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Staden Lane, Buxton SK17 9R7, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Buxton
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good basic bed and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were having difficulty finding overnight accommodation with disabled access during the Buxton festival. Staden Grange had availability so we booked. The entrance is off putting as the track is not well signposted and very uneven. However the rooms are spacious, clean and newly refurbished. The breakfast was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the centre of Buxton so it was ideal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
31
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stopped over travelling to London from the Golf Open near Blackpool. We booked last minute through internet, arrived late after 10pm and were warmly welcomed. The room on the lower ground, in a row similar to USA motel style. That's where the analogy ends. The rooms are not very large but cozy, nice beds and obviously with kettle, coffee, tea and biscuits.

Shower cabinet small but works very well. The room could do with a another flat surface to empty pockets, place maps or laptop. Wifi worked very well.

Excellent breakfast with several choices.

Overall, a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have just returned home after a two night stay at Staden Grange and we will definately be staying there again, hopefully, for longer. The staff/owners are very friendly and helpful, nothing appears to be too much trouble. The accommodation itself is spotless and extremely comfortable. The food (both breakfasts and evening meals) are delicious. We would highly recommend the sponge puddings and custard! I can't think of anything negative to say about Staden Grange.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family stayed for one night in this welcoming, clean and beautifully refurbished hotel. From the moment we walked through the door the owner was friendly, helpful and nothing felt too much trouble, even orange juice and packets of haribo sweets for our boys.. Who had lovely farm duvets on their beds! Our room had been recently refurbished to a very high standard and was spacious and comfortable with lovely views to the fields and the children's farm which the owners are developing. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice of tasty, locally sourced foods.
Agree the drive to the property can be off putting, but rest assured once you reach Staden Grange it is more than worth it. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in Staden Grange as a family of five over the Jubilee weekend. The place is very welcoming, well looked after and clean. It has wonderful views of the Peak District, and there are animals on site for the kids to look at (with plans for a full-on petting zoo next year). It does great food (breakfast included, dinner reasonably priced considering the high quality of the food), and in general comes very highly recommended.

We stayed in room 1 - a family room, with plenty of room for our family of five (it was designed for two adults and two children, but they had no problem putting in a third child's bed for us - and didn't charge us any extra for doing so). The room had an en-suite bathroom and its own entrance out onto the courtyard. All of the rooms we saw seemed clean and well looked after.

There is a lounge for use by the guests, which has a bar (with good local real ales for sale), books to read, comfortable couches, and even toys and games for the children. The dining room has a real wood fire and is spacious - you're not all crowed in and squashed together, and it's very comfortable to eat in.

Note that we stayed in the Bed and Breakfast accommodation; there is also a camp-site in the grounds, but we didn't really go and look around it. People there did seem to be enjoying themselves, we're not really camping folk but if that is your thing then you can do that too :-)
All in all, we were very impressed, and would have trouble to find anything negative to say!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Peaceful location, spotlessly clean, great breakfast, very friendly and helpful with local knowledge and recommendations.

Lots of lovely little extra touches - hair dryer with long lead so that you could use it and see in the mirror - big bath towels - cartons of juice and some sweets for our friends little girl - lavender hand cream in our bathroom – two chairs in the room so you didn’t have to sit on the bed.

Children loved the donkeys, rabbits and chickens.

We would certainly visit again and would highly recommend this gem of a place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Good room, great beakfast,very friendly hosts, recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staden Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staden Grange

Address: Staden Lane, Buxton SK17 9R7, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staden Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Staden Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staden Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.