We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griff House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Griff House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was a treat to stay in this newly refurbished B&B - every thing has been done to the highest standard and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is within easy walk of both the town and the beautiful hills around Buxton. Happy to highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: The whole house seemed really quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hello Ruth, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, a friendly ambience is what we aim for and there's certainly lots of good walking to be had in our part of the Peak District. We hope to see you again before too long.

Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
96
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked into Room 1 with a family of four (2 adults/2 young children) for four nights in August. Originally booked for three but liked the B&B so much we extended a further night. The hotel has been beautifully renovated recently, and is extremely close to town, a 5 minute walk and you are in the Pavillion gardens which is a nice way to go into town. If you have young children (and the time!), the park has excellent playgrounds and a minituare train for kids.
Back to Griff House - if you appreciate period properies sympathetically restored whilst combined with modern amenities you'd expect in a Hotel, then this is the B&B for you. As you enter the height of the ceilings, the width of the hallways, landings and stairs and the sheer size of those internal doors will be appreciated. But then you walk into the Bedroom to a modern en-suite bathroom, flatscreen TV on the wall (no wires to be seen!), an Ipod docking alarm clock and good wi-fi coverage throughout. Due to the recent refurb you also get the recently painted and new carpet smell as you traverse around Griff House.
Other things future guests might like to know that I consider worthy of pointing out - the room had a small fridge, a safe, nice wide shower with good quality fittings. The windows are all replacement wooden sash windows, so whilst we quite luckily arrived in the sunny weather and had them open, I would imagine they stand up well to a winter draught test also. They had restrictors of course to stop children opening them too far also.
The interior decore and furnishings were all failrly new and very comfortable for a good nights sleep. Outside there was always a place to park, either in the car park itself or outside on the road, no issues there. Downstairs we enjoyed the large communal lounge where we watched some Olympic finals.
Breakfasts were well cooked by Martin, sourcing locally produced ingredients, Kathryn’s homemade granola is recommended and there was always a pot of fresh filter coffee on the go. Breakfast set us up nicely for the day in the Peaks, and nothing was ever too much bother.
As you can tell from the review, I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for decent food, excellent hosts, a good night’s sleep and proximity to town.
Thanks for a perfect stay, we’ll be back for another visit.

Room Tip: Room 1 good size for a family of four, one double two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hello, thank you for posting such a thorough review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the changes we have made to Griff House. It was quite a project and so it is nice for our efforts to be appreciated. We were keen to retain (and enhance) as many of the original features as we could whilst updating facilities to match the modern traveller's expectations - hopefully we have achieved this. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent a couple of nights with my wife and children, rooms were brand new, great bedding and a good and silent location. Breakfast was really good and the people were very welcoming and kind. Will definitely recommend it for family, business or couple trip.

Frank

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hello Frank, it was a pleasure to provide a base for you and your family during your recent Peak District visit, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The bedding was all new for the start of the 2012 season and is 400+ count cotton for extra comfort. We feel this is equally important for a good night's sleep as the quiet location - Griff House is on Green Lane, a peaceful area just a few minutes walk from the town centre and opera house.

We look forward to seeing you all again next time you visit Buxton.

Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Recently renovated with brand-new everything, beds that are cloud-soft, superb breakfast with plenty of options, free wifi that reaches every room, hosts that are there when you need them, garden grounds with outdoor seating, convenient walking location to the best parts of town, parking in front that was always available- if you are coming to stay anywhere near Buxton you must stay at Griff House. Room 8 had an amazing view of town, too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Peter, thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here. The refurbishment we carried out last winter was hard work so it's rewarding to hear a positive response. We hope to see you again one day! Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I can highly recommend both the guesthouse and the town of Buxton to anyone visiting the UK.
The room we had was very spacious and very clean. The bathroom also was one of the bigger ones we've had during our 10-day roundtrip in the UK. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful.The location of the guesthouse was ideal (in a quiet street, yet a mere 10 minute walk to the centre). Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello Carlo,

Thank you for posting your review of Griff House. For the benefit of readers, Carlo stayed in our room 4 which is spacious, with a bay window and an en suite bathroom. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Buxton and the Peak District and hope to see you again soon.

Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just got back from a culture weekend at the Buxton Opera Festival and had the good fortune to book into Griff house. It is situated just 5 minutes from the Pavilion Gardens. We were most impressed by the high standard in which the house has been recently refurbished and by the quality of the furnishings. The beds were very comfortable and were made up with good quality cotton linen. Lovely bathroom, all spotlessly clean.

There was a very warm welcome from Martin and Kath and the breakfast was excellent. Overall very good value.

We shall definitely book in again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello Jon,

Thanks for leaving your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Griff House. We have today ordered more of the same furniture you had in your room, which we will use for all the other guest rooms - it should be in by early October.

As you say, Griff House is well situated for the Opera House so we look forward to seeing you again next year for the Buxton Festival, if not before.

Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Booked a room for 1 week for my mum in July 2012. She had a really pleasent stay. the room was very clean and the breakfast was very good also. Overall the standard is higher than some of the 4 stars hotels in buxton.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased your mother enjoyed her stay at Griff House. It was nice for us to be able to provide her with a base from which to explore the Peak District both by bus and also on foot - she said she enjoyed her stroll up to Solomon's Temple.

We hope to see her again in the future.

Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griff House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.