We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*****Simply Wonderful Food & Attention to Detail - Excellent *****” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriages Pub & Italian Restaurant

Carriages Pub & Italian Restaurant
Newhaven | Near Hartington, Buxton SK17 0DU, England
01298 84528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: $12 - $47
Cuisines: English, Italian, Continental, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Little Sicily in the heart of Derbyshire’s Peak District and where you’re guaranteed Italian food as it was meant to be... The second you enter Carriages, via the ‘Booking Office’, and head towards the ‘Platform’ bar you realise this is no ordinary restaurant.The dining area consists of two ‘steam era’ railway carriages (either side of the bar) with guests able to enjoy excellent cuisine in the ambient surroundings of ‘Orient Express’ and ‘Pullman’ carriages. If you’re looking for a mouth-watering selection of traditional Italian/Sicilian dishes, fresh seasonal seafood, fine Italian wines, coffee and ice cream then look no further than Carriages Italian restaurant at Newhaven.Daily specials, with the emphasis being on fresh fish dishes, feature along with an extensive a la carte menu. Sicilian chef Enzo specialises in ‘home cooking’ such as Fettuccine alla Norma , Duck breast in rich caramelised sauce with balsamic vinegar wine and thyme and Funghi Ripieni. Carriages also offer an excellent selection of fine wines, beers and spirits. An extensive snack menu is available and served in the plush cocktail bar, where you can relax surrounded by railway memorabilia. Throughout the year, Carriages hosts special events and is home to a successful ‘Ladies that Lunch Club’. Karina and Enzo are also delighted to host special occasion parties, such as Birthdays and Weddings, with many guests returning time and time again. A tailor-made menu is available for parties of ten or more.The moment you arrive at Carriages restaurant, Karina and Enzo guarantee a warm Sicilian welcome. Followed by Italian food as it was meant to be... Carriages is open from Wednesday to Sunday (closed Monday and Tuesday).Lunch is served from 12pm until 2pm - Dinner is served 6.30pm to 9.30m Last order is at 2.00pm on Sundays.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“*****Simply Wonderful Food & Attention to Detail - Excellent *****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you enjoy fine food and a warm welcome then Carriages Italian Restaurant is a must for you to visit. This visit was a special occasion for my partners birthday and the owners and staff made our night very very enjoyable with attention to detail with the decorations and excellent italian food. The dinning area has a unique quality inside set in train carriages making it special & for us a romantic atmosphere. We shall visit again as we have for the last 3 yrs (on my birthday) as a special treat, as every time I swear it gets better and better! Thank you Carriages for making our night so special and enjoyable

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    22
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little strange but absolutely captivating and delicious ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We couldn't quite get our head around how unique this place is - a pub/authentic Italian restaurant set in a beautiful 'train carriage' and station inside a traditional stone English cottage in Derbyshire. As we walked in we had a lovely warm welcome at the 'booking office' before being led through to the 'station' for a drink while we waited for a our reservation. There was stunning attention to detail on every fitting and it was a perfect place to be taken away for a couple of hours. After a short wait we were taken through to a romantic table in one of the carriages on either side of the station. The service was ever attentive and never imposing and we had the best three course meal of the weekend. The Sunday Roast I had for main was generously portioned and cooked perfectly, whilst my partner had a delicious pasta dish cooked by the Scilian chef.

We cannot recommend Carriages highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food in a unique setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose to go to Carriages as the last meal of our 2 week holiday and made the 5 minute drive out of Buxton up into the hills. The restaurant is highly unique in setting as you dine in one of 2 purpose built in the main restaurant all decorated as per first class pullman express trains of the steam era. It was a fun setting. The service was very friendly and we were welcomed warmly.
We started with the fritto misto and sardines which were served with fresh bread. Both were very tasty. Then into the main we had the seafood pasta and the T bone steak. Both were excellently sized, filled with fresh ingredients and seasoned perfectly. The T bone was served spot on rare and was one of the best restaurant steaks I have tasted.
Overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening at Carriages it suitably rounding off our holiday in style. Thank you to all the guys there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

As frequent visitors to Italy, we recognise good Italian food when we taste it. This was good. The service is very friendly and efficient and there is a wide choice with some specials. The railway carriage setting is unusual and much more attractive than the outside of the building would suggest.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal Number two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We again went to our favourite restaurant for another birthday meal. This has to be the most unique restaurant we have ever been too, great setting, fab hosts and staff, brilliant food to die for. Nothing left and people being quiet as they eat, shows how much we all enjoyed it.
Pasta was just perfect and the Lamb dish was wonderful, deserts all went down well and the mint parfait is one of my favs.
The atmosphere created by Enzo and Karina makes it a magical place to spend an evening, the birthday cake and song was worth the wait. If I could rate carriages out of 10, I would give it 15.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriages Pub & Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carriages Pub & Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriages Pub & Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.