We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Buxton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Park, Buxton SK176TQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Buxton
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Buxton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Easily the most helpful staff we have known in years.
Excellent bed
Very good breakfast and dinner
We had small problems with the comfort of our bed but they were put right immediately
Can't beat that

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    216
    67
    23
    4
See reviews for
82
386
7
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This wonderful family run hotel ticked all the boxes for my wife and I on our recent break. Helpful friendly staff, even with the slight disruption of the current work. The room was quite large but comfortably warm with the snow outside. Nicely situated for the town centre and other attractions of Buxton. Breakfast was plentifull and set us up for the day, on the whole an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you didn’t find our current refurbishments (almost finished!) to be much of a disruption and we hope you come back to see the finished project very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed in Best Western hotels before. This was the best room we have ever stayed in before (room 6) - Junior Suite. All of the staff were friendly, professional, knowledgeable and helpful. My wife and I were made to feel like valued guests and so was our Labrador dog...we will be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in one of our superior suites. We look forward to welcoming all three of you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here as we were visiting friends in Buxton. Knowing the town well, I was confident that this was a good choice. All in all it was ok, whilst the hotel is in need of a bit of TLC in places, the room was larger than I expected and the staff and breakfast were great. The only snag was the sheer lack of pressure in the shower, possibly one for the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel...really not good at all as well as the noise coming from other bathrooms in other rooms. A flushing toilet was enough to wake the neighbouring room. Was also very interesting that when we checked out we weren't asked if everything was OK...so I took it upon myself to mention the poor pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to see that we fell short of your expectations in certain areas. We are currently refurbishing a huge part of our public areas and are addressing the water pressure problem that occurs at peak tines in the morning. On departure you should had been asked if you had enjoyed your stay and I apologise that on this occasion you felt disappointed. We have retrained all the reception staff to ensure that all guests are asked about their stays. We do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Lincs
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has a hill to walk up and down but it only took us around 8 minutes to get to the Opera house or into the town centre. The rooms were having some work on them whilst we where there and ours had been recently completed with two single bases pushed together it made a wide double. the view over the park is stunning.Breakfast was superb and plenty of choice.

Room Tip: no 34 view over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked your room. We always love to hear back from happy guests and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEEFELD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is very well run and the staff are so helpfull we stayed for 2 nights and the breakfast was so nice the quaility said it all . had lunch there one day the food fantastic in the little room .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My daughter and I met up at this hotel for a one night stay in Buxton. The family room we had was extremely comfortable with plenty of room and a modern ensuite bathroom. It was also lovely and warm which was very welcome given that it was a snowy night with below freezing temperatures. The staff were welcoming and concerned to make sure we were comfortable. It is in a handy location for the town centre only 10 minutes walk away. The breakfast bar had a wide variety of foods to choose from and the fresh cooked breakfast was delicious. We would happily stay at Lee Wood again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad that on one of Buxton’s famous snowy days you had a warm welcome and cosy stay! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel

Address: The Park, Buxton SK176TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton
Buxton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.