We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful venue for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Park, Buxton SK176TQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Buxton
Derbyshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful venue for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just had a special birthday lunch at The lee Wood with family and friends. The conservatory is an ideal setting - light and airy. The food was delicious and all the staff very pleasant and helpful. Many thanks. Ann Oliver

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Many Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your luncheon with us and we are looking forward to welcoming your reunion group next year.

Look forward to seeing you again soon


Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    216
    67
    23
    4
See reviews for
81
386
7
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My son's wedding reception was recently held at the Lee Wood - and the hotel and staff were fantastic. The conservatory lends itself to a wedding, and we were also able to have the adjacent bar area for our wedding party. Despite the weather being beautiful, bride and groom still had photographs taken on the gorgeous staircase, as well as outside on the lawn. Rebecca, our wedding planner was so helpful and reassuring - from our very first visit 9 months ago, up until the food had reached the tables! And the food - nothing could have prepared us for such an amazing feast. Many guests stayed overnight, and the party continued at breakfast; where wedding guests had even been reserved tables together. All in all - an amazing experience, much credit having to go to Rebecca, along with her colleagues in and out of the kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to leave your excellent comments on Trip Advisor and Thank You also for choosing the Lee Wood as the venue for your sons wedding reception. We thought the room looked lovely with the purple theme that the bride and groom chose and we are so happy that you enjoyed your wedding breakfast. I hope that the cameras were not full of too many photos of the chocolate fudge cake you had as your dessert! I will pass your comments across to the team who always love to hear back from happy guests and we hope to see you and the family again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just had my daughters wedding at the hotel.(15/09/12)
What can I say, Hotel was excellent. Rebecca (hotel wedding advisor) was brilliant, ensuring everything went smoothly. She could not do more to help us. Conservatory was made up surperbly for the wedding breakfast. Food excellent. Our party had 24 rooms with everybody very pleased.
I would highly recommend this venue for a wedding/stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to leave such amazing comment on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you chose our hotel for the venue for your daughters wedding and we offer our congratulations to Katie and Gareth and hope they enjoyed their honeymoon! We hope you and family all come and see us again very soon and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Lovely, spacious and relaxing hotel and some of the best food we have had, the evening meal was fantastic and a good variety for breakfast. The staff were all very friendly, polite and curteous and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed both your stay and also our restaurant food. I will pass your comments across to the team as they always love to hear back from happy guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The room & the bathroom were very clean. The bed was very comfortable and got a good nights sleep.
The breakfast is served in the large conservatory the roof of which could do with a good clean.
I was not impressed by the breakfast. I had wanted the kippers which were on the menu but there were none left so I opted for bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato & baked beans. This was not the best breakfast I've ever had as the bacon was overcooked & the sausage undercooked.
The hotel is convenient for the centre of Buxton but it is a bit of a walk up a slope which might make it unsuitable for some people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant nights sleep. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your breakfast, I am unsure if you mentioned this to the staff at the time but they would have been more than willing to give you an alternative. We hope that you choose to stay with us again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

was recommended to stay here on a night out, lovely staff, bedrooms were very good, clean and comfy. would recommend to a friend. breakfast was well cooked but was not very hungry as went out the night before to a local restaurant.. would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lee Wood and that you would use the hotel again. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the Opera House only a few minutes walk. Good choice at breakfast and all staff very friendly and helpful.

Quiet location. Stayed in standard double room which was a little smaller than expected but perfect for short break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J320, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel

Address: The Park, Buxton SK176TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton
Buxton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.