We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandeur ( a little faded) for a leisure stay. Not really for business travellers.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buxton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Grandeur ( a little faded) for a leisure stay. Not really for business travellers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed here over a dozen times over the past 5 years.
I always find it difficult to comment on such hotels because I travel for business, and I am not the market that this type of hotel caters for.
GOOD FOR:
Those that like Victorian grandeur. This amazing palace commands a hill overlooking the town. It is glorious in its style but is fighting a (winning) battle over its old grandiose architecture. I would strongly recommend it for weddings and similar functions - it is majestic!
Well situated for those wanting to explore the magnificent scenery around and return to a touch of history.
Good attentive and welcoming staff.
NOT SO GOOD FOR
Business travellers might find it average. As a business traveller, I just want the basics to be done well - no flounces, bows or historical charm.
Using a ballroom for a business meeting doesn't really work!
As a business traveller, I eat too much rich food anyway, and try to avoid hotel food which is invariably 'special occasion' food. I cannot comment on the evening food, but the breakfast was fine, fresh and showed more variety than usual.
There are other facilities (fitness lounge etc) that a business traveller would not normally use.
GENERAL
Generally,sleep quality is good.
Car parking on site is fine.
Its within a short walk of the town, so no feelings of being a captive.
Room sizes are generous.
Room temperature is good - especially given the hostile environment of Buxton outside of summer.
Furnishings were OK (but showing their age a bit...the Victorian bits were well maintained, but the everyday stuff was 'lived-in' - but quite acceptable.)
CONCLUSION
This hotel is not really in the market for a business traveller. It certainly seems to appeal to the infrequent hotel stayer, or the 'occasions' market - and as such I think that it does very well.
As a business traveller, I felt a bit like a fish out of water.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for you comments regarding the building we are extremely lucky to have such a fantastic building in such a prominent position over the town I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return one day to relax with us as a leisure guest

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    384
    297
    182
    112
See reviews for
152
555
24
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was not our first stay here - we have stayed many times and it is a firm favourite with us.
The hotel oozes character; it is friendly and welcoming without feeling stuffy. It has a very comfortable, lived-in feel- Victorian style. We just love walking into the reception hall, with those pillars and grand staircase.
The location is great - the town is spread in front of you and the surrounding countryside wonderful for walking and exploration.
The food is very good and we think offers excellent value for a 3 course dinner.
Our bed was comfortable and huge.
We can see in places it is in need of a lick of fresh paint, but in no way do we find it bothers us. The Palace can never be a boutique style hotel but it offers real relaxation and insight into a time when Britain really did rule the waves!
Enjoy it - we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We look forward to see you again soon.

The Palace Hotel is sat just above the Spa town of Buxton and ideally for shopping, walking, relaxing or going to some of local attractions including Chatsworth House.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What can I say. Everyone is different and everyone expects something different when they stay in a hotel. We are a married couple in our fifties, both with high pressure jobs and when we have a break we need rest and relaxation, good service, nice food and a comfortable quite, clean room. We found the Palace Hotel to have all of this and more.
The hotel has been there a while, no hiding the fact but for some, like us, that's part of the charm and attraction. If you want to stay in one of the shiny boxes you can find almost anywhere with the same old food, standard this and generic that, this is not the place for you. If you want character, tradition, space and good old fashioned style then maybe it is.
We were treated with courtesy and offered polite good service throughout our visit, the room was very spacious and comfortable including a bed that we could actually sleep in.
We did not stay for evening meal but the buffet breakfast was the best we've ever had and a bar snack served late afternoon and just before bedtime was of surprisingly high quality.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, even late at night.
The leisure facilities (we used the pool and gym) were clean modern and well equipped.
We stayed in January and so were expecting it not to be busy, that's why we usually have a break after the new year, we like it that way. The hotel we guessed was maybe half full but so spacious it seemed very quite and peaceful, There was plenty of room on the ground floor to relax, read etc.
We loved the interior decor, many original Victorian features, fixtures and fittings (You can just imagine the ladies in their long evening gowns and hats strolling through the building and up or down the magnificent, mile wide, central staircase a hundred years ago). Fabulous.
We stayed in a room to the rear of the building and so didn't get a view but this was expected as we booked late and cheap and it's not a priority for us. A room at the front of the hotel must have a great view though, if you're interested, as the hotel sits right on top of a hill in the centre of town.
All positive & no negative as far as we are concerned, well worth staying, we're going back at the end of the week!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. All the team are delighted they were able to make your stay so enjoyable. We are a period property as you say and aim to stay in keeping with that.

We hope you are able to return soon.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Have to say that the staff and the quality of the food in this hotel were both excellent, however I did have one or two issues. I booked to take a couple of friends and myself for a pamper day and overnight stay. We travelled down from our homes and arrived at approx 10.30am, as we wanted to use the pool, steam room and sauna facilities before our lunch, and our treatments, that were due to start at 2pm. How disappointed we're we???!!!the pool was not like you see in the images available when you google it. Yes it was the pool at the hotel but in reality, it was much more tired than the images portray, looked and felt very dirty. There was a blood clot on the edge of the pool, the grouting was very dirty, all in all not very appealing. The steam room and sauna were tiny in size, and also very tired looking. It was very oppressive. For me , this was a huge disappointment. The hotel building is fabulous, very imposing, an architectural delight, the bedrooms were very comfortable, and the staff very helpful and obliging. I feel that a bit of money spent in re-vamping the pool area would be very well spent!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We appreciate your comments. We have a rolling programme of refurbishment which includes continual improvements to the Leisure Club and Beauty rooms. We are pleased you enjoyed the overall hotel.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My mother bought an offer from Groupon for a spa day, which was to include 2 half hour treatments, the use of the pool, sauna, steam room and gym as well as a glass of bubbly each on arrival.
The first problem arose before we'd even got there, as the hotel called and said that on the day of our treatments, the pool and changing rooms would be unavailable due to refurbishment and 'would that be ok?'. We were not informed of this when we booked so we then had to rebook for the following month.
When we arrived we were not greeted with bubbly, we were rushed through where things were (all randomly placed around the hotel meaning we'd be waddling about in our towels as robes were an additional £5 to RENT and were not even offered to us) and then left to our own devices. From then on the day was average, everything needs a massive refurbishment but we had a nice run in the gym, a relaxing swim, a stint in the steam room and then our treatments which were quite nice.
I wasn't overly impressed with the day, but as it was a cheap offer I daresay we got what we paid for!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We do a range of spa day packages and these including different things depending on which one you choose. The beauty salon is all in one area with the leisure club being located directly below.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

lovely hotel, lots of nice touches. Bedroom enormous had a family room which was extremely comfortable and no need to upgrade.

Breakfast lovely no queing and prompt service.

A warning needs to added regarding the swimming pool. The ladies changing is up a flight of stairs and to get to the pool you need to come down the stairs. This was extremely dangerous with a 4 year old in tow. As I always book a hotel with a pool for my daughter I would not use this hotel again. If you are going to only use the hotel then I would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The stairs are all none slip too the pool area. We are however pleased you enjoyed your stay overall.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Palace hotel in August 2012. There were some problems but overall we were happy. We always go away with our two friends for New Year's and noticed the Palace did a package for the period. Perhaps we were attracted more by the location than the evidence of our stay but we booked and noticed a change from our earlier stay.
The hotel was tastefully decorated for the holiday period. There appeared to be more staff on hand and they were all very attentive.
We were given a similar room to last time and could see work had been done to smarten things up.
The evening meals on the 30th and 1st were very good and the service in the restaurant was consistently good.
The new year's eve event was in the High Peak room and you could tell a lot of care had been taken in preparing the room for the occasion.
To some the food choice for the event may have been small but understandable when catering for so many people at once. However what was provided was very good.
There was a piper playing to bring in the new year and a live band too.
It would have been nice to change the tempo for a little while and have one or two slow dances but all in all it was a great evening.
The hotel certainly showed it could put on an event and compares favourably with other places we have celebrated bringing in the new year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear your enjoyed your New Year Break with us. We hope you are able to return to the Palace Hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace Buxton
Barcelo Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.