We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected upgrade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buxton
County Durham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Booked a 2 night stay as a stop gap in our travels. A little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but had a marvellous stay. When we got to our room we discovered we had been allocated a suite - absolutely fabulous! Staff friendly & helpful, food good only minor irritation the bottle of wine we ordered to go with our meal arrived when we were already half way through our main course. Please note this is a large hotel & there were at least 2 bus trips in, we found some of the other guests mainly OAP'S very rude, jostling & pushing in at the breakfast buffet. So much for young people having no manners, they should lead by example. Of course this is no reflection on the Hotel but you need to bear this in mind if you prefer a relaxed, peaceful breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    383
    297
    182
    112
See reviews for
152
554
24
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is set in beautiful gardens atop a hill overlooking Buxton and it looks supurb from the outside. The foyer and public lounges are georgous. I actually won this overnight stay at this hotel in a raffle..... We held a banquet there last year but had to stay elsewhere as they were full ... We intended to go back (50 of us) next year but I don't think I can recommend staying there although the banquet was excellent.
My prize was bed and breakfast in a premium twin room. I can only presume that because I wasn't paying, I was downgraded to a standard.... And with it being a freebee, I didn't feel right complaining. Room 112 .... It is quite big and the views over the town through huge windows were georgous and the bed was really comfy. But the room was quite shabby with peeling wallpaper and scratched and damaged furniture. The cleaning left a bit to be desired too, tissues behind the bedside cabinet ( I wasn't looking for problems, I had knocked my phone down there) and dust on the beside lampshade and stand. But the bathroom was the worst - chipped bath and black mould all around... Yuk. I will try to upload a photo, but I'm not good with such things.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was reasonable but the plates and the food were cold but nicely cooked however.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked the Palace for one night as we were seeing a show at the Opera House. I had seen the mixed reviews on here and decided that I'd go with an open mind.
We were met by a very pleasant receptionist who booked us in and told us we were in the Palace Suite. We didn't realise what we had until we opened the door. We had expected a standard en-suite. And yes, although some of the decor is dated and tired (bathroom in particular) the bedrooms (we had two) sitting and dining area were all well furnished and very clean. We had been upgraded to one of four suites which include a very large entrance hall with sitting area, a very large bathroom, two bedrooms and then a dining/lounge area.
The extra touches such as the dressing gowns and slippers were welcomed too along with the swan towels on the beds. Views (although it was raining the whole time we were there) were lovely as the suite is on a corner so there were two different aspects.
The grand feeling of the hotel detracted from the tired areas. Everything was spotlessly clean and throughout our two days/one night stay we saw staff constantly cleaning and always very helpful.
On our departure we were allowed to leave our car longer while we went for a walk and we were not charged for parking so I'm not sure if the policy has changed, although signs did say payment was due.
Breakfast was ok, self service buffet and a good choice and was well stocked, we didn't get down until after 915am and everything was fresh and very well stocked still.
The bar in the evening again was welcoming, and although prices were a little high, this is usually the case in hotels, so its not something I'd complain about.
I would say that if you want perfect plastered walls and modern up to date interiors then this really isn't the hotel for you, but if you want a very warm welcome, staff who are friendly and efficient, and a place so full of character and in a perfect location for all of Buxton's amenities then this really is the place to go.
We had a lovely stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked into the Palace Hotel for a weekend whilst we were attendin a wedding in the area. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite and that was very much appreciated. The Hotel is very grand and the decor and furnishings fit into the period and style of the building.
The staff were always pleasant and helpful and the service in the restaurant was very good. The menu selection would suit all tastes and the food was well cooked and presented. We liked the layout of the restaurant as we didn't feel that people were in too close proximity and it was a comfortable place to dine.
The grounds around the hotel are splendid and a pleasure to walk around and take photos. The setting within the town and the views from the rooms were lovely and restful. We fully intend to return there and will be happy to stay in other Puma hotels in the future.

Room Tip: We booked a double room but were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunny, , United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The whole experiance at "The Palace" was v good, the staff superb breakfast excellent and my evening meal was excellent to. Beds were great ( im a bed retailer ) the brand use are a top bed company. Only thing that I would say needed a little more attention was the spa area. The resturant manageresse on duty 21/23 september was a joy great effciency and good humor just what is needed to make staying in hotels worth staying in.

Room Tip: go there and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Took my Mum as a treat and had Dinner Bed and Breakfast with Chatsworth tickets thrown in for £140.00. Was a bit worried after reading poor reviews but wanted to be near the theatre so took the risk. So glad we did.Loads of character and a really friendly welcome. Room was a good size and clean and our towels were made in to elephants!
Dinner was good and served promptly after we mentioned we had to be at the theatre for 7.30pm.Fire alarm went off at 4.30 in the morning so we had to evacuate for a while but everyone took it in good humour and it made for a very chatty breakfast in the morning.
The hotel is in a great location and yes if you look closely it is faded in parts but beats bland corporate hotels by miles.
Didnt use the leisure facilities so cant pass comment on them.And the best thing for me was that Mum loved it and it put a smile on her face after the recent death of my father. Grand hotel,pleasant staff,great location and good food. Very relaxing comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The palace is a grand hotel of the old style and keeping the building up to scratch must be a pig of a job, but they manage, apart from the lift which doesn't come when you want it and then goes to whichever other floor someone has called it from. Intensely annoying and it really needs a more modern control mechanism. But that's a detail, and they also have stairs..!

It's a big place with huge rooms and high ceilings and real character, so not the hotel for those who like homogenous, sanitised, box bedrooms. But for comfort, charm, space and a bit of old-fashioned style, the Palace is really good. Immensely friendly staff in all parts of the hotel really made our stay. Everyone from Reception to dining-room staff to chambermaids took a genuine interest in guests and their comfort. Brilliant. Bedrooms were comfortable, clean and well serviced. Table d'hote dinner very good, with very attentive service. Excellent breakfast buffet, kept topped up right to the very end of service. Leisure club a bonus - good sized pool, sauna etc.

Room Tip: Watch out for the church bell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace Buxton
Barcelo Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.