We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large group stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jug and Glass Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Jug and Glass Inn to your Saves list
The Jug and Glass Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
earl soham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Large group stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a very comfortable country inn that makes you feel welcome as a guest and is clean
The food is good and there was very little to fault
Hard beds perhaps let the rooms down but thats being picky- steak was cooked to perfection
I would recommend this as a place for a group of friends to visit and stay for a weekend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Couldn't fault the Jug and Glass Inn, a friendly welcome and clean, comfy rooms were just what was needed. Add the great food and ideal location made our stay perfect after a tough few weeks where all we needed was a relaxing break! Spot on!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

stayed for one night last week and had a very comfortable stay.walked into hartington which takes about twenty minutes,the tissington trail is even nearer.the room was bright and clean and looked out over fields.had an evening meal at the pub where the portions were very generous and it was lovely homemade food.the pub is cosy and traditional.breakfast was great the next day and the owners wereso friendly and welcoming.spent the next day on a long walk around Ilam and Dovedale.perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a two-night stay here and the owners are welcoming, the food is excellent (several home-made vegetarian choices, unbelievable!), great ale, and rooms comfortable and clean. We hope to go back with our dogs one day. It's a great base, Chatsworth House and the village of Hartington definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a surprise! Fabulous setting, cosy welcoming pub with lovely hosts and staff. The food was exceptional and brilliant value for money. The room was comfortable and very clean. We had a lovely weekend and would certainly chose this pub again when we return to Derbyshire. One of the best places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Disney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a one night stay with our two dogs. Our room was lovely, very clean & right next to the back door which was so convenient as my dog Pippa always needs to go to the toilet in the night.
We ate in the pub in the evening in the bar area where dogs were welcome. Very comfy with sofas. I'm vegetarian & I was so impressed with the vast menu I could choose from. Excellent food.
Would recommend highly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

we stayed after christmas 1212 on a trip to see family wonderful food and atmosphere.friendly helpful staff, lovely family atmosphere. children catered for and warmly welcomed. all in all a very good experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jug and Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug and Glass Inn

Address: Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jug and Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming country Inn set in the beautiful High Peak area of Derbyshire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Jug and Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug And Glass Hotel Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jug and Glass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.