We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A High Spec B&B in great countryside with Friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hollinsclough, Buxton SK17 ORW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A High Spec B&B in great countryside with Friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Amazing B&B, a very high quality of everything, from the specialist soaps in the bathroom, to the full tea & coffee making facilities, no sachets here, plus a full kettle! The staff were helpful and friendly.

The room was individual and very well done with a great view, underfloor heating and a large bath/shower room with a roll top bath.

Would have loved to stayed more nights, also looks a good base to walk from as well.

A selection of pubs nearby, the one we used was a typical country pub, very friendly staff and good food.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
98
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for three nights and had a truly relaxing time. Our room (the Seven) was really spacious with a couple of chairs and two very comfortable beds. The bathroom was also very roomy with an amazing shower and everything that a disabled person could wish for. Karen is a remarkable hostess. Not only does she cater for our every need but she also has to help out on the farm. (she was painting a gate when we were there) Nothing is too much trouble for her and her breakfasts are something special. We just lounged around in the very comfortable sitting area and read and stitched for the whole time that we there, not being the active types. But there were plenty of facilities for the ramblers. All in all, a brilliant, leisurely rest. We could not fault a thing and we shall definitely return in the spring.

Room Tip: If you are disabled, then room Seven is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stoop Farm is a perfect location for a get-away-from-all break. We stayed in Seven Room which is furnished to a high standard, with a sitting area, spacious shower room and extremely comfortable bed. All 3 rooms share a cosy sitting room with dining area at one end. A large selection of DVD's, books and games, along with tourist information can be borrowed. A wonderful breakfast selection, along with a packed lunch option, an honesty bar and tea making facilities in each room. Although the farm is remote, many eating facilities can easily be reached by car in 10 minutes.
Lots to do in the area and a drying room helped dry our walking gear.
Karen gives a warm welcome and very helpful. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Seven Room on ground level with disabled access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stoop Farm is in an idylic setting about 10 minutes from Buxton. It is 2 miles from the nearest village, so perfect for a rural retreat. From the moment we arrived we were superbly looked after with tea and freshly baked cake on arrival, homemade fruit compote and Granola followed by pretty much any cooked breakfast you could wish for and a very warm welcome from Karen for whom nothing is too much trouble. Our room, the Hollins Hill view, was tastefully decorated, beautifully furnished, warm and comfortable with added extras giving it that special touch. The en-suite facilities were spotlessly clean and stylish. We had a wonderful romantic and relaxing 2 nights stay and look forward to returning in the Spring. Stoop Farm even holds weddings, so who knows??!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a stunning location- we arrived at night so had a lovely surprise in the morning with the views from our room (hollins hill). It is rural but so worth it when you get there! If arriving later on might be worth taking a picnic- thats what we did for the first night!
Room was really tastefully done, comfy bed, lovely luxurious bath, with great selection of luxury toiletries.
Very yummy breakfasts both days- karens stewed fruit and homemade granola was well worth gettingout of bed for, also the cooked breakfast, eggs and smoked salmon and pancakes! We tried the lot! Proper thick-hand cut toast... yum!
We did the circular walk to longnor over chrome hill- not for the feint hearted despites us being relatively young and fit! Fortunately the pub in longnor was a good halfway house!
Karen really is lovely, very welcoming and helpful- can't fault her!
We ate at the packhorse inn in crewdicote on the saturday- we went a 6pm so was okay not to book but any later you definately would need to. Yummy food, and friendly staff, shame we were in a hurry!
If the weather is dry the hot tub is well worth a try- such a lovely experience+ I'v never seen so many stars!! even though it was chilly outside (october) we were nice and warm!
Overall- you MUST stay here! Just a shame we didnt have longer to explore the peaks- we will certainly be back!

PS- go to chatsworth- you need a whole day to explore fully! Is fab!

Room Tip: Hollins hill or the hayloft for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Isolation. Dramatic views. Warm hospitality. Luxurious decor. Great food. Nice walks from the doorstep. Stoop Farm stole our heart when we first visited. We've returned 3 times now. If you need somewhere to stay in the north-west, especially for a romantic or quiet break, go there!

Room Tip: The Hayloft has fab wallpaper, snug rug and big old-fashioned bath. Lovely!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just had a lovely weekend here for our anniversary - as the others have said it is a bit remote but well worth it when you get there. We stayed in Seven Room which was lovely - homemade cake on arrival - thank you. Great choices for breakfast; from full english to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon (even a box to ask for your own choice which Karen would try and accommodate!) We booked and ate at Royal Oak both nights - only about 15 mins away in car - great food (huge portions!). Would recommend Royal Oak or eating out before you go back to the farm. Would definitely go back. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Seven Room didn't have a bath but a fantastic shower - think all rooms will be of same high qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hollinsclough, Buxton SK17 ORW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury farmhouse B&B situated in a very private and peaceful location in the heart of the Peak District. 2 ensuite double rooms, 1 ensuite double/twin room, all beautifully decorated and furnished. Many walks straight from the farm. Large breakfast menu with locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.