We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buxton Opera House

Buxton Opera House
Water Street, Buxton SK17 6XN, England
0845-1272190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We've been to several concerts in 2012, and the Gala Dinner and concert on New Year's Eve. Great people run this, and it's always relaxed and fun, spectacular interior, nice bars, great location.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    130
    11
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The building has a nice architecture and is really big! Also the garden beside the building was very beautiful with its trees and bridges.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peter Pan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A really traditional "Panto" which we laughed our way through! The cast were relatively unknown but excellent. I haven't been to a pantomime for years but found I could be persuaded to do so again by this production.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Buxton Opera House is a beautiful theatre. We had a great night out last Saturday watching a Beatles show. It was very good value for money and we had a great night out

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautiful inside the Opera House well worth a visit
The pantomime was excellent and we really enjoyed our visit

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buxton Opera House also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Buxton Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buxton Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.