We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Weekend in Wales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lower House
Save
You added Lower House to your Saves list
| Cusop Dingle, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5RQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Larnaka, Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glorious Weekend in Wales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My hubby and I started the New Year (2013) with a blissful weekend in wales. Booking Plas Bach, the self-catering accommodation of Lower House was the best weekend we have had together in a long time. Our retreat was beautifully set out and thought through from goose down duveys to vintage crockery, full stocked kitchen, blissful powershower, super effcient log burner to a welcome pack full of organic and local goodies as well as a folder on the best places to go and things to do in the area. It was immaculate - as if we were the first to stay there. It felt totally our own. Nicky and Pete gave us a warm welcome and then left us alone to enjoy our time in complete privacy but the invite to the house for more cds/books/info was much appreciated. The location is perfect too- a 20 mins walk over the fields to fabulous Hay on Wye where we enjoyed excellent food at Booths Bookshop and stocked up at the local market and Hay Deli where the service was wonderful. On another day we took the recommended drive over Gospel Pass.. only 8 kms away from Plas Bach we were suddenly in the wildly isolated and dramatic landscapes I had been dreaming about. Walks, wilderness, bookshops, glorious accommodation and mouthwatering local cheeses..... who could ask for more. Just one tip - you will want more than 3 days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
118
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed Nicky and Pete so much in our first brief visit that we signed on for two weeks in their magical self catering cottage Plas Bach. Still didn't have enough time to take in all that Hay-on-Wye and the surrounding mountains have to offer. Nicky and Pete once again went out of their way to ensure that everything was terrific for us -- even arranging for their cat, Little Kit, to find the lost reading glasses in the garden and bring them proudly back. The garden location is memorable. Dulas Brook lulls you to sleep. A perfect cocoon for time away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Lower House for the first time in August for 3 nights. We were in the Rose Room which was a wonderful mix of old-fashioned bedroom and modern bathroom. The room had a lovely fresh feel to it with the white and pastel shades plus the rose soft furnishings. We loved hearing the owl during the night! Nicky and Pete are very warm welcoming hosts who are very keen to make you feel at home and to give you lots of useful tips and information about Hay and the surrounding area. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choices and served in the cosy sitting room. We really enjoyed the walks into Hay each day either over the fields or along the road. We had a look around Plas Bach and would probably try and book there next time as the verandah with a glass of wine and a book would be perfect. It would be difficult to forego the breakfasts however! Garden enthusiasts will love looking around what Nicky and Pete have created over the years, it is really a secluded paradise. We have recommended to colleagues of my husband who have booked for October.

Room Tip: The Rose Room has a kingsize bed whereas the Oak Room has a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our 3rd visit; we have made this our annual trip in September when the kids have gone back to school and the weather improves!! Nicky and Peter are fantastic hosts, the breakfasts are excellent all locally sourced and organic. Their rooms are warm, comfortable and cosy.
We now take a bottle of bubbly and sit in the upstairs area outside the other room with our friends before goin out to dinner. You are surrounded by books with a fabulous view out onto their wonderful garden. You are a few minutes from Hay itself which has a friendly atmosphere full of book shops and other interesting shops. If you want a break in Hay, we can highly recommend Lower House. They now have an independent little self-contained “house” overlooking the gardens, when the sun sets it shows off the beautiful flowers in the sunlight. Heaven!! There are lots of fantastic walks in the local and surrounding areas and a short drive to Hay Bluff!! See you soon Nicky and Peter.

Room Tip: Sorry there is no swimming pool, the system won't allow me to delete it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilminster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Without reading a single other comment this is my personal review. A friend and I went to Hay on Wye with a view to walking in the countryside and the hills. This we did from the most delightful of bases, Lower House in Cussop. A most charming B&B run by a charming and wonderfully artistic couple who welcomed us warmly to their home, nestling peacefully in its private valley. There they have created a magical garden full of colour and many different areas from the mysterious, to the Italianate, to the field of black sheep, one with a bell. Our comfort was thought of at every point, nothing was forgotten and the breakfasts were a daily treat. My bed was superbly comfortable and there is something very comforting to go to sleep to the sound of the gentle stream at the bottom of the lawn. An added joy was to see books in every corner of the house, with plenty of information about the region plus maps to be borrowed when needed. I sincerely want to go back. Shirley and June.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our third visit and not much more to report. It's a bit boring saying the same old things over and over, so let's just say this place is unique and that you'll find it difficult to find a nicer B&B experience anywhere.

We went as a group of four and loved it as usual, but one thing to bear in mind if you are planning to visit as a couple, is the superb Plas Bach self catering cottage. It really is the cosiest, private, relaxing place to stay, complete with modern wet room and a log fire in the lounge area that you can see snuggled up in the comfy bed. Romantic or what!

The reason the whole place is unique is down to Nicky and Pete. They are the most welcoming attentive hosts you could imagine.

It's probably better not reading any more reviews if you are looking for a B&B or self catering in the area. Just book it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

So beautiful...a very magical place. Stayed for 3 nights in August, myself and my husband. Fresh flowers, lots of little treats and a welcome basket. Wonderful hosts who made our stay even more special. The very best place we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower House

Address: | Cusop Dingle, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5RQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lower House Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Lower House Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.