We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, relaxed in lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast

The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Llanigon, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5QA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quirky, relaxed in lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We found the Old Post Office purely by chance and were amazed at our good fortune. Characterful old property, artistically and tastefully furnished and decorated, quite quirky which suited our tastes as we like to find something a little different from the run of the mill B and Bs. Arriving on spec we were not sure if our dog was allowed however Linda was so relaxed and accommodating we immediately felt at our ease. The house is in a lovely quite location with a church opposite and a few other houses. We had the master bedroom at the top of the house which was huge with en-suite bathroom and a lovely view. The one thing I would say is that the wooden stairs are quite steep and slippery with no handrail so a little caution is needed! Lindas' attention to detail is second to none and we loved the fact that breakfast was a self serve affair in the kitchen. Everything was beautifully presented and laid out for us to have whenever we wished. Fresh flowers everywhere and fresh fruit, bread, eggs, yogurt and so on. She was extremely helpful in giving us some suggestions of good places to go, where we could walk the dog, a lovely place to eat and a "must see" location. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The master bedroom was extremely spacious and very comfortable with en-suite, however accessed by so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have stayed here as a couple ,and with our children many times over the past 20 years and we LOVE IT!!

Two of the bedrooms are on the small side and share a bathroom between them, but this is reflected in a lower price.

Linda's breakfasts are legendary, and everyone eats at one large table which is informal and fun.

Have recently discovered that the WHOLE house can be rented, which would make a fantastic property for a family gathering of 10-12 people.

Really, really special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed here solo and as a couple. A little outside Hay, in a quiet spot by a church and a handful of houses, a great place to find peace and tranquillity. Best if you have your own transport to find it or to go out for evening meals in Hay or the surrounding area (Pandy etc.). Efficient and friendly service, beautiful calm rooms furnished in an eclectic, well-chosen style, luxurious beds. It can be a good starting-place for local walks to work off the fabuous breakfast - grapefruit, cereal, fresh scrambled eggs, tomatoes, serious wholemeal toast, and mushrooms (I didn't miss any meat!). An escape from wifi and screens, though there is a sitting room with TV and a selection of local guides. Restorative...

Room Tip: You can choose an ensuite or shared shower/loo. Loft room has acres of space and a writing desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The attic room was enormous, the bed very comfortable, the bedroom and bathroom clean. Our hostess was welcoming, even to the extent of digging up and presenting to us part of a clump of flowers which my wife had admired. The breakfast was wonderful; I had a large plate of scrambled eggs, and there was the most delicious home-made marmalade to go with the toast. If there was any criticism it was that the coffee was very slightly weaker than I prefer. All in all a great experience.
Note that only vegetarian food is served, and that there was no TV in our room, although there was in the guest's sitting room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast

Address: Llanigon, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5QA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.