We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Start

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Start
Save
You added The Start to your Saves list
Riverside, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5RS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Lovely B&B. The setting by the river was charming, as were the chickens and ducks running through the yard and garden. They provided the eggs for your morning breakfast. The owners were very warm and friendly. We loved it here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
thank you for writing us a great review and adding that fab photo of the girls ! we have now had baby ducks and chicks so its very busy in the garden!! see you soon, Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
79
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed in the twin room for the second time for three nights in June 2011.
The calm and charming B & B is located just outside Hay (2 minutes by foot). The landlady gave wonderful tips on what to do in the area and made us feel very welcome.
Definitely not our last visit.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
just like to say a quick thsnk you for taking the time and effort to write such a lovely review for us, it means so much, see you again soon, Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Excellent B&B! In fact the best in Hay-on-Wye. Go just past the bridge and you'll this lovely little place on your left. Dawn is charming and full of good advices. The owners know very well the area and would recommend nice places to visit and eat in. They prepared many leaflets, maps and home made little guides for you to discover this lovely area. We were never disappointed by following their recommendations. Don't waste your time, just ask them and they will be more than happy to assist you in planing your day around the area.

Ask for the Glamorgan sausages (Selsig Morgannwg). They are vegetarian, home made and unforgettable. If you want to go to the restaurant, ask Dawn and Steve for the best table in the area and you wont be disappointed.

From the house, you can walk to the river which is just 100 meters far.

IT People: When we get there, the internet wasn't properly working because of some issues with the modem. Once I highlighted that to Dawn, she took the issue very seriously and within a few hours the wireless modem was replaced by a new one. The internet works just fine and you can VPN to your company network and pretend you are working from home :) Thank you for that Dawn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
thank you so much for writing such a thorough review of our B&B, we understand that it takes a lot of time and effort but we really appreciate it. Good to hear that you had a lovely break!!
see you soon, Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Dawn and Steve were great hosts. Our room was very nice with a wonderful view. The location was perfect for walking into Hay-on-Wye. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our B&B, glad you enjoyed your stay with us, see you again, Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Friendly welcome to weary walkers and a beautiful bathroom with bath and oodles of hot water and immaculate room. Dawn is a great hostess - friendly and professional with lots of personal touches like local produce and jams. Super spot by the river - one of the best stays walking Offa's Dyke Path.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
thank you for writing such a lovely review, its great to see that people enjoy their stay in our home. Hope you had a good walk,
Steve and Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This was out second visit to The Start and this time we stayed a week. What a wise decision that was. Dawn and Steve's hospitality was second to none. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and really set us up for the day, complete with optional laverbread prepared by Dawn herself and fresh from the Gower coast. The location is great - just over the bridge from Hay. The town is the Book capital of the known world and set in idyllic countryside. Believe me, wonderful though it might be, Hay is much more than just a literary festival and The Start is the perfect venue for a comfortable and relaxing holiday

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to give us such a lovely review and the mention of the laverbread! Hope you got back safely and see you again next time, Dawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

If you read the review by Andy63 (Solihull, dated 28/02/11), I would like to mirror his words. This is truly an excellent place to stay. Lots of organic home grown produce for breakfast and you can even buy some to take home with you (which we did). The owners are not intrusive in any way but are very accommodating if you want their advice or help (I apologise for the delay in writing my review, one of those things I kept meaning to do). They also have a lovely stove that dried our boots out on a few occasions.

They do have a cockerill, and I do wonder if you went in the summer whether that would be a problem, but in October it is fine (darker mornings :) ).

Will definitely be going back.

The Shores and the The Roffes

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Start? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Start

Address: Riverside, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5RS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in our 18th Century family home. Unwind in a comfortable, friendly location on the banks of the River Wye, 300 yards from the centre of town. Large garden in rural surroundings with river access. All rooms have river views and our home retains many of its original features. Cyclists and walkers very welcome, and we can provide cycle lock-up, drying facilities and free flask filiing!. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Start Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Start, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.