We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Stars B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Stars B&B
Save
You added Seven Stars B&B to your Saves list
11 Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye OX1 3AP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Excellent room and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family and I spent one night at this inn on the 8th of November and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Even though the family room only had a double bed and a single bed and could not actually accommodate the 4 of us, the staff graciously provided us with an extra mattress, quilt and pillows so that we could all squeeze into one room. (Some hotels/inns can be very strict about this.) The room and ensuite toilet were very clean, and the pretty view from the window just added to the coziness of the room. We were told that there was even a heated pool and sauna at the inn, but it was a shame that we did not bring our swimming gear with us on the trip. It would have been a wonderful respite from the wintery cold! The breakfast was delicious, and the selections available was much more comprehensive than most other places that we have stayed at!

Finally, what made the stay so good that it warranted a review on tripadvisor.com was the wonderful service provided by the owner, Diana. As we were leaving Hay-on-Wye the next day for Bristol, we decided to make a booking at the Bristol Premier Inn since we had earned a free night's stay there after staying at three other Premier Inns in the other parts of UK. Diana kindly lent us her phone to make the call. To our horror though, it took us more than half an hour and at least three tries before we could be connected to the Premier Inn telephone operator. Sensing our frustration, Diana helped us to make the call (which lasted another twenty minutes at least!) and got the booking done. We offered to pay her for the phone charges, but she graciously declined! We were very grateful for her help.

In short, Seven Stars is definitely the go-to place if you need accommodation in Hay-on-Wye!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    42
    17
    12
    1
See reviews for
29
97
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family of 4 which includes a 4 yr old and 10 mths old baby, drove to Hay on Wye on a wet 31st October afternoon. As it was getting very dark quickly, my husband saw Seven Stars and went to enquire its room availability. We were in luck, there was a room left with double bed, but they did not have any extra beds. We brought our own baby cot which fitted into the room ok.
The building dated from the 16th century was quaint with its exposed wooden beams. As one would expect from a half a millenium old building, some floor and stairs creaking noises would be characteristic of one. The owner, Di, was most accommodating especially after knowing we had 2 kids with us. She gave us extra beddings, duvets and even baby blankets!
The most surprising feature of the room is the ensuite bathroom that comes with a bath! My kids were absolutely delighted to be able to soak and play in the bath. Had we known that we were staying at the Seven Stars, we would've brought along our swimming gear. The hotel has a heated pool in a building right behind it.
In the morning, we had our breakfasts in the dining area. We were truly surprised by the extensive breakfast offerings on the menu! We had the full breakfast which came with fried bread and also a smoked kipper! The service was amazing as Di and her sole staff did all the cooking and serving, and they were also prompt when asked for more coffee, toasts etc. Needless to say, breakfast was amazing!

Room Tip: We stayed at the room facing the main road. The only downside to that is the town clock tower chimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband, 13 year old daughter and me, (a worn out teacher), found the Seven Stars B&B in Hay on Wye on line and we were immediately drawn to it by its location, (plenty of eating/drinking places to walk to!), beautiful scenery, sauna and pool, but also having read the reviews felt we could not go wrong. We were right, the hospitality given to us by Di was fabulous. What a busy bee she is but never too busy to chat and share her wonderful knowledge of the area. Diane wrote out clear instructions on how to make the best of our three days there. Even though we had researched the area, her first hand friendly ideas were second to none. On Diane's recommendation we drove through the amazing Black Mountains, breathtaking views as well as stopping at some places of interest enroute. We ended up having a drink at the oldest pub in Wales, the Skirrid Inn, which has been featured on Britain's Most Haunted. Very atmospheric on Halloween! The only 'down' side was that the pubs/cafes recommended to us by Diane for lunch stops were never sampled, as we were just too full from the amazing breakfasts at the Seven Stars. Really hope to go back for another break next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have stayed here for the last two years and there is a good reason we came back. Diane and her staff are friendly and the cooked breakfast really sets you up for the day. Our daughter loved having the use of the pool and sauna which was really welcome after a few days in the mountains. Rooms are clean and there's ample tea/coffee/biscuits. Hay is a lovely town and it's worth spending a bit of time browsing the bookshops. Surrounding countryside is gorgeous and definitely worth exploring whether on foot or on horseback!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Friendly welcome from Diana. We stayed four days three nights in mid October 2012.
Lovely large vaulted beamed room, tea/coffee tray with biscuits. Very clean throughout.
Delicious breakfast, plenty of choice on the cooked menu, Diana always on hand to top up with fresh pot of tea, coffee or more hot toast she also had lots of info on goings on in the past plus what to see during our stay.
Free car park at the back next to the indoor swimming pool building. This B&B is within walking distance to the assortment of shops & pubs, countryside walks can also start from here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed several times in this hotel and love it. It has comfortable rooms and a lovely heated pool to swim in and gorgeous sauna. You can just pop out to look at the bookshops or go walking on the hills or Offa's dyke.
For us the great thing is that they take dogs and Monty the dog was thoroughly spoilt . The breakfast was great he said and we agreed.!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benevento, Italia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were here in august, we found it avery nice place to stay. It is very close to the town centre, and to all the bookshops and pubs.
We had a very nice welcome from Dianne, she is a very nice person and does her job very well.
The rooms were clean with kettle and teabags, and the bathroom very spacious.
There is also a free carpark, and thats not bad at all as soon as you are in town centre.
We also had a nice breakfast freshly cooked. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Stars B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars B&B

Address: 11 Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye OX1 3AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
7 Stars b&b
Seven Stars Bed And Breakfast
Seven Stars Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Seven Stars B&B Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Stars B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.