We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's everything everybody says about it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bear Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Bear Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2 Bear Street | Hay on Wye, Powys, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“It's everything everybody says about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The house, the ambiance, the greeting, the service, the room, the en-suite, the breakfast, the cost - all perfect. We loved it! The only niggles we had were that it is quite difficult to find, parking is tight and the wifi signal strength could be improved. If you are in the area, this is the place to stay though you will probably have to book early.

Room Tip: We were in the twin-bedded room because the double bedded en-suite room was occupied so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
98
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great place to stay - welcoming host David has an eye for detail, tastefully furnished room at a fraction of the expense of a faceless hotel. You can breakfast like a lord, freshly cooked with care, set us up for a day's book hunting. Overall excellent standard - couldn't suggest any improvement (except a brew and some cake in the lounge on arrival!).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband, not known for getting excited about things, said The Bear was easily the best B&B he has stayed in. The warmest welcome, outstanding care and attention to detail and such a beautiful building. David couldn't have been more welcoming or attentive, and his cooking was delicious. We had home baking on our tea tray each day (yum) and a wonderful breakfast. Thick cotton bed linen, squishy pillows and duvets, proper fluffy towels and all the other little things that make a big difference. Convenient parking out the back and its within a minute walking distance to the town. Perfect in every way! We already loved Hay.. now we love it even more :-)

Room Tip: We had the double with separate (private) bathroom which was a little cheaper than ensuite. It was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A truely lovely establishment. Superb rooms and a great host.The breakfast was exellent too. If you are visting Hay we would thouroughly recommend a stay here.In fact, the Bear is a good enough reason in itself to visit Hay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My sister and I stayed at The Bear for two nights on our walk of the Offa Dyke’s Path. The Bear is a beautiful, clean, quiet and comfortable B&B in a great location. The room we shared was much larger then the normal twin room with a large, beautiful bathroom. The décor was really nice with the added touch of Welsh blankets on the beds. The breakfasts were excellent and the hosts David and Andrew were extremely pleasant and helpful. I accidently left an earring and David sent me an email and said that he would be sending it on to me. This is the best place we stayed along the path and can’t recommend it more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here on Offa's Dyke Walk.
A great building with fantastic rooms, superbly furnished and very comfortable. Probably the best place we stayed over the 10 day walk, against some stiff competition.
David was very welcoming despite our very wet and muddy condition.
Great breakfast.
A very relaxing place to stay.
Will definitely go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I do like a nice B & B and this is one! The Bear is located right in Hay on Wye so once you are there you can walk to pubs, shops, restaurants and the market (on Thursday).

David is a fantastic host, friendly with an excellent eye for details and some great suggestions for what to do where to eat etc.

The place itself is spotless, full of character, beautifully decorated and well looked after. Breakfast is lovely and the communal area is comfortable and cosy. All of this for we thought was good value. What more could you want?!

Spot on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bear Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Bear Street | Hay on Wye, Powys, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear in Hay on Wye, Powys, is a former 16th century Grade II listed coaching inn at the centre of the world famous book town. This historic guest house has three individually decorated bedrooms providing high quality, informal, and relaxed accommodation mixing the best of the original with an interesting mix of antique, vintage, and contemporary design. Breakfast is served in the guest lounge and features a changing menu of delicious homemade food using the finest local ingredients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bear Bed And Breakfast Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.