We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan at Hay

Save Saved
You added The Swan at Hay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Hay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The manageress who owns the hotel was very friendly and always had a smile on her face. Free wi-fi, so the brochure says is available on the ground floor, but we could get it on the second floor.

Breakfast was stonking, but we eat out in Hay on Wye for an evening meal, so can't comment on the quality / quantity of food for tea. The hotel is not situated in the centre of Hay, but hey, Hay is not that a big a place, so it's only a 2 minute walk to where all the action is happening.

Talking of action, Hay wasn't as busy as I thought it was going to be in mid June. Maybe the kindle and online book shops are the shape of things to come. There's some lovely walks almost just outside the hotel that take you along the river and onto some very open meadow lands.

But back to the hotel. For me it was great, no complaints and had a lovely charm about it. My wife and I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 15, where on a windy day the bath vent kept flapping and making a noise. The floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    86
    43
    30
    10
See reviews for
28
152
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights and the room was good although some improvement is needed around the edges. However, the food in the bistro was excellent. We ate on both nights and the starter and main course was very filling and full of flavour. The service was swift, friendly and all on time. I would recommend this hotel especially for the food. Prices on the menu whilst not cheap were good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A comfortable hotel in Hay with nice rooms and good restaurant facilities. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed in June so lacked a buzz, but I'm sure that because we stayed during the week. Excellent breakfast and a good time had by all.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The staff here were a shambles.
At check in the man could not stop talking on the phone and greeted us with a curt "yes?".
We had left our luggage as we arrived early and asked for it to go the room. It never arrived till me reminded the. 90 minutes later
A huge group took over the restaurant so we were put in re Bistro with no warning . Food was good but service and atmosphere non existent as only 4 of us in there.
Alex Polizzi needed here urgently or someone to oversee them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night after booking a groupon deal. The hotel description described it as luxury and the restaurant prices were 5 star. We decided not to eat at the hotel because the prices were far too much! Also, it put us off paying that amount for food because the rooms were not really as described.
The double room we had was in need of refurbishment because the wallpaper was peeling in places and the shower/bathroom was old to say the least. However, the bed was comfy, it was acceptably clean in the room and hotel in general had a cosy country feel to it. There was the usual complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee/biscuits provided that you get in the majority of hotels.
The staff were pleasant enough. The hotel is in the village centre and ideally located for walking. I would not have paid full price for the room we got because it is too 'old-fashioned' for my liking, however for a groupon deal it was ok.
We enjoyed relaxing in Hay-on-Wye; we enjoyed the tearooms, antique shops, the country pubs, finding out about the history of the village and going on a couple of long walks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Swan before and were glad we chose to stay here again. A lovely place to spend a night away close to some wonderful bookshops and antique shops. The garden is a relaxing place to have a quiet drink before sitting down to a truly scrumptious dinner. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We stayed in the main hotel there are also rooms in the courtyard. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Main Hotel rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just stopped here for the night, as we were touring the countryside.
Fab little hotel..Helpful staff..the terrace is great to relax in and the room was cosy.
Not 5 Star, but a comfortable country hotel.
Close to the towns pubs and of course the bookshops.
Worth just walking around and checking out the history of the little town..
Great architecture and the little bridge at the back of the Hotel is worth having a look at...
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Swan at Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Hay

Address: Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Hay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Swan at Hay, a family run hotel and restaurant in the Marches town of Hay on Wye where warm hospitality and good food await you. Standing alongside the glorious river Wye, Hay on Wye retains all the charm of a late Georgian, early Victorian market town. With its markets, book shops, boutique style shops and access to the unrivalled scenery of The Black Mountains and Welsh Marches, Hay on Wye is the ideal base for your short break and we look forward to meeting you at The Swan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Swan at Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Hay Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Swan At Hay On Wye
Swan At Hay Hotel
The Swan At Hay Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan at Hay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.