We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomatitos Tapas Bar

Tomatitos Tapas Bar
38 Lion Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AA, Wales
01497 820772
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Hay-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were not sure what to expect, but as the previous evening we had eaten Indian food we thought we’d give Tomatitos tapas a ‘go’. We were not disappointed. Each dish (shared) was cooked to order and served hot. The waitress was happy to discuss the preparation of the tapas and advise us on the amount of food in each dish – we ended up ordering four dishes, which was ample for my wife & I. The ambience of the restaurant/cafe was just right, with Spanish music in the background. I don’t have any hesitation in recommending Tomatitos for the food (sourced locally) and that the wine was fairly priced. A very pleasant meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    52
    11
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food, not cheap but a lovely night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were in hay for the weekend and fancied a light meal - this hit the spot exactly. The food wasn't cheap but was probably the best tapas I've had. 2 of the group are veggie and we had some lovely food (especially the aubergine) and the meat eaters loved the beef, prawns and chorizo. Puddings and wine also delicious. Not perfect on matching the order, but a super meal and highly reccommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Finding its feet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We were hoping for a warm buzzing tapas bar in Tomatitos, but found the atmosphere a bit lacking. Converted relatively recently from what was the Wheatsheaf pub, it does feel a bit like a repainted pub that has decided to start serving tapas. That said, we were there at lunchtime on a weekday when it was quite dead and it may be different at busier times.

The food itself was very good - tasty, fresh and sourced locally wherever possible. Some portions were of a good size, others less so, and there seemed to be little correlation between the value of a dish and it's price. The menu was also quite short for tapas - 4 people ordering a few dishes each would struggle not to duplicate - but I think this may change as the restaurant develops more specialities.

Overall a generally good experience, but will wait a bit before going back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas, service etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Visited this restaurant when we were in Hay recently. Had a great time and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Would definitely return there again. Good selection of tapas, great desserts and the coffee was good also. When the bill was given we were also given jelly babies and smarties. A lovely idea. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Firstly, anything is better than what it was before Tomatitos arrived. It started off with a bang, with reasonable prices. The idea of a Tapas bar is good, but with the amount of food that is one each dish, the price is too high. This is not London, this is Hay. One sad element of businesses failing or not drawing enough customers to hay, Is that businesses tend to overcharge customers thinking they will spend their money just because this is hay. Stick to the plan, keep it simple, and reasonably priced. Customers are not dumb. With these economic times, make it more affordable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomatitos Tapas Bar also viewed

Hay-on-Wye, Powys
 
Hay-on-Wye, Powys
Llowes, Hay-on-Wye
 

Been to Tomatitos Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomatitos Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.