We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food like my Mum makes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Tuns Chepstow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Three Tuns Chepstow to your Saves list
Three Tuns Chepstow
32 Bridge Street,, Chepstow NP16 5EY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Food like my Mum makes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I took my wife and two year old daughter to the Three Tons today for Sunday lunch. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming and the restaurant had character. We enjoyed a wonderfully homemade tasty meal with dessert to follow. We'll certainly be returning again, soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at three tons chepstow . We stumbled on this place two months ago whilst visiting the castle ... they allow dogs in to . We called in for a drink and to shelter from the rain .we fell in love with the relaxst atmosphere. And booked a stay on the lead up to Christmas. This place has so much character . Give it a go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned from a visit to Chepstow where we fortunate enough to stay in The Three Tuns. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner Debbie. Our room was comfortable and breakfast was superb. We felt we got excellent value for money and would certainly be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan lancs
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are comfortable and spacious, food is excellent breakfast to die for, staff are amazing nothingis too much trouble . Lovely view of the castle from the beer garden at the rear.I would highly recommend this little gem to anyone looking for a relaxing stress free break in this area . The live band on the Saturday night were good fun and created a great atmosphere in the bar

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Debbie the landlady of the pub and b&b, couldn't be more friendly, or more helpful. The breakfasts are first class - wonderful quality ingredients and 'REAL' toast (ie sliced from an uncut loaf and toasted, yummy!
The rooms are very eclectic and the bathroom we had was small - but WONDERFUL large shower (and you don't need that much room for a wee!)
The pub was really interesting with good beer selection (so I was told!) and a great friendly crowd.
Debbie goes out of her way to make your stay good - making up a HUGE picnic when we asked complemented by homemade Victoria sandwich filled with home-made jam; doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: be aware that its near the centre of Chepstow so lively at the w/ends until about 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
1,049 helpful votes 1,049 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The accommodation was very comfortable. The food was superb, particularly the evening meals - great home cooking, and the service first class.
A great place to stay in Chepstow. There is even a private car park.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the Three Tuns for tea before heading home on a Sunday afternoon. We'd had problems finding somewhere that would serve us food at that time locally but the welcome here was very friendly and the atmosphere cool and relaxing on a hot day. We had baguettes and tea on comfy sofas and really enjoyed the experience. We didn't stay overnight but can thoroughly recommend for a quick bite.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Tuns Chepstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns Chepstow

Address: 32 Bridge Street,, Chepstow NP16 5EY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th century inn located in the old part of Chepstow adjacent to the castle. We have three guest rooms with private bathrooms. All rooms have been recently renovated to a high standard. Three Star Rating with Visit Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Three Tuns Chepstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Tuns Chepstow Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Tuns Chepstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.