We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potential but lacks what it takes to follow through.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Two Rivers Restaurant

Two Rivers Restaurant
Newport Road, Chepstow NP16 5PR, Wales
01291 629159
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 54 Restaurants in Chepstow
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good potential but lacks what it takes to follow through.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stopped here with some friends on the way to somewhere else as it looked good from the outside. We decided we'd have a drink and if we liked the menu we'd stop for food.
The menu looked excellent with plenty of variety and the Rotisserie Chicken oven was an original and appealing touch, so we stayed.
The place is fairly new and the décor reflects this; it's very clean and comfortable.
It's table service which is a refreshing change from the usual "take your table number to the bar" approach.
This is where things started to go downhill. The service was slow and sporadic - "I'll just drop this at the kitchen and pop back for your drink order," not to be seen again until I went looking.

I was going to order the cod from the specials board but decided on the chicken in the end, which was just as well as the cod came with mussels which I'm allergic to and there was no mention of this on the board.
The chicken looked good, choose a sauce, pick two sides and voilà. The sauce turned out to be in ketchup bottles and not, as I was expecting, a sauce over the chicken and the plate just had the three items on it; chicken, corn cob and a small jacket potato. There was no presentation or garnish; the items looked like they were just dumped on the plate.
My wife had the gourmet chicken burger; the chicken was great but the burger was small and nothing special - and for approx. £10, you'd expect a burger to be outstanding.

At around 11pm the staff made it fairly obvious that if we left they could go home early, so we finished our drinks and left.

In summary, nice original place with relatively friendly staff but it lacks some fairly simple things that would make it great. High expectations by the appearance led to a disappointing result.

Not sure I'd go back, there are plenty of places where you can get the same quality food for less.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    53
    41
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Could Do Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Unable to book here as it's turn up and hope. Arrived as a party of 12 and had to wait about 45 minutes for a table, (ok if you aren't driving and can sink a few bevvies in the meantime, not so good if you'r on the Coke). Plenty of parking, it's next to a hotel. Athomsphere and decor was good. Menu; typical pub chain fayre but several items were not available (7.30 on a Saturday evening!).

Two of us wanted fillet steak but they had none left so we had the rump instead. Mine came and was very nice but the other was very gristly. Some other members of our party had issues with cold food, we had waited a while for our order to arrive.

Service was good but food was slow arriving. Staff didn't really appear keen to ensure you had a good experience. Left unimpressed. However, this is a relatively new establishment and may improve. But, at the moment, I would not recommend for a larger party.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food, handy location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Two Rivers is a newly-built inn, and belongs to the Marston Group. It is just over the Severn Bridge, so very handy for people who want a stop-off on their drive down to south Wales, and on the doorstep of the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean.
The atmosphere is very homely and casual. The menu is wide-ranging, and although not haute-cuisine (well, you don't go to an inn for that, anyway, do you), the meals are good quality and very tasty. The only drawback is that you cannot book for Sunday lunch, but even so, you don't seem to have to wait long for a table. There is plenty of seating.
There is an outdoor seating area, but as the inn only opened in November 2012, and considering the weather conditions this winter (and spring!), probably hasn't had much use yet!
For a good, value-for-money meal, do give Two Rivers a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

lovly meal,all 9 of us enjoyed it, waitress was nice, will be going again, good value for money, kids menu, well impressed with it

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepstow
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Slow service, disappointing meal, overall average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife & I had a meal for two here. The drinks order was taken very quickly however food order taken later. Following a decent wait, our meals arrived. My wife's meal was good however I ordered a chicken gourmet burger meal. What I received was two chicken fillets in a batter served in a bun.... really disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Rivers Restaurant also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Two Rivers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Rivers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.