We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of a welcome...!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Two Rivers

Two Rivers
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Two Rivers to your Saves list
Two Rivers
Newport Road, Chepstow, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not much of a welcome...!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

On booking in the receptionist (short, blonde hair, middle-aged) was offhand to say the least; didn't look up from from what she was doing until after I had been standing waiting for some minutes, then just raised her eyebrows as a way of greeting - no 'Good afternoon, how may I help'. Challenged me on the price I had been quoted online (had print-out with me which she examined suspiciously) then called supervisor/manager and said to him 'she (meaning me!) booked online but the price is different from what's on the computer today'. What happened to calling guests 'this lady' or this 'gentleman'? The room was small but adequate and clean but poorly equipped for a stay - no drawer space and no wardrobe - just a few hangers in one corner on a short rail; how one would cope if staying for up to a week I can't imagine! Food in the restaurant was quite good and served hot fairly quickly after ordering, but the portions were small - my husband's risotto, whilst tasty, was just about big enough for a 12-year-old child and I shared my main course with him - accompaniments cost extra. Drinks were normal pub prices but my white wine was not cold enough - better chiller required! Service was spasmodic but we forgave that as the restaurant was very busy. Some younger staff need more training.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    14
    12
    5
See reviews for
21
31
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went to this place three times and the first two times was excellent however the third time was awful. Steak special came out smaller than the mixed grill portion complained and was made to feel it was my fault. As they were coked well done which was amazing when ordered medium rare. Manager was awful and should be sacked complained to head office but nothing back. Poor service, poor food and bad management.

Avoid at all costs!!M

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place has only been open to the public for a few months and is a HUGE improvement over the previous hotel that was bulldozed. My wife and I popped in for a snacky type lunch and were well impressed
Large, spacious open plan interior, well dressed and friendly staff and lots of people tucking into what looked like really good food. And it was. Freshly prepared with mainly fresh ingredients and at a price that made me look twice at the menu. Great value.
Although the place was almost full to capacity when we arrived, none of the staff seemed stressed and went about their business with what could be describe as 'quiet efficiency'. The decor is relaxing and modern, but with a traditional air. A nice place to be and definitely the best place of its type I have been to. Well done Marstons and a message to Wadsworth. Weep and cover your eyes in shame. You have just been obliterated.

Room Tip: I could only comment on the bar/eating area. I would be surprised if the bedrooms were not on a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A Monday night and quite busy but we were served quickly. Amazing food and service. Extensive menu with something for every taste. Chicken was delicious. Very child friendly. Very nice interior, comfy and spacious. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed here on more than one occasion and on every occasion I have chosen to eat at the restaurant (the chicken is great) and spend time at the bar...
Everybody is so welcoming and it is such a nice environment would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have read some of the negative reviews and all i can say is rubbish, I found the hotel a few weeks ago after staying in every Hotel with-in the Chesptow/Newport area, i have now stayed and dined on at least 10 occasions and i have to stay every aspect of my stay has been perfect, hotel rooms are modern, clean and ideal for a business travelier, food is second to none and compaired other hotels with-in the area wins hands down, service i must again disagree has been fast and very freindly, free wi-fi and a perfect breakfast to get the day started awaits. i have no hesitation in recommending the Two Rivers,
Ian Rollins, Worcesetrshire

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A very nice well presented hotel, with a good food pub next door. The rooms are very clean and tidy, although lacking draws! The selection of food and drinks is great, stayed for 2 weeks and not had the same meal twice! 10/10

Room Tip: Family rooms are worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Two Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Rivers

Address: Newport Road, Chepstow, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Two Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Rivers Chepstow, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.