We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Piercefield

The Piercefield
A466 St Arvans | Monmouthsire, Chepstow NP16 6EJ, Wales
+44 1291 622614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 50 Restaurants in Chepstow
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

An enchanting setting(two log fires) plus a great variety of real ale and an excellent choice on the menu.
A beautiful duck salad starter and a first class rack of lamb.
Superb service and very reasonably priced

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    19
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend went it to this pub for a spot of lunch and got a fantastic surprise the food looked like something you should have if you f

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Expected More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten at other Brains pubs I was expecting good quality and value food without too long a wait and friendly service but we didn't get that here.

We had a long wait from arrival for someone to even take a drinks order let alone food and we expected more choice on the lunchtime menu. We then had a 45 minute wait for food. When the food did arrive (we had the beef burger and chips) the portions were small - a handful of undercooked chips and a tiny burger in a measly bun! The burger and chutney was tasteless and the cheese was non- existent.

The waiting was probably not helped by there only being 2 staff on and the pub being fairly busy but that's the pubs problem and not the customers.

A nice thing was there was an open fire but even with that we felt cold inside and didn't take our coats off!

I don't think we will be returning!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow Service and Greedy Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Had a meal at the Piercefield after the Caravanand Motorhome Show, and wished that we had continued on to Tintern. The pub was not too busy, and the starter was not too long in arriving, but the wait for the main meal was ridiculous. I hate to think what it would have been had they been busy. The food was good, and reasonably priced, but should have been discounted to compensate for the wait. To cap it all, the waiter took our money at the end of the meal, and did not bother to bring us our change. When challenged as we were leaving, he said that he had been called away, but this was a big fib, as I saw him go to the till, then wander off. We had intended to leave a tip, but did not do so after this episode. We would not visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We don't venture out to much with 4 kids so were keeping it simple with a trip to a Brains pub local to us. Eaten here before as a couple which was fine - what you'd expect for the price but good and from memory, service was fine. Sunday was another matter. From the off we were treated like cattle with the barman telling us we'd be dealt with soon and left standing around. Ordered, everything sounded good but after waiting 50 minutes - no food. Staff started chasing around and food arrived 5 minutes later. Many diners had the same experience and I really felt for the front of house staff bearing the brunt. Food was OK, nothing special and not very good portions either. Not going back, even skipped desert we were so annoyed, will go to other Brains Pubs in Pembrokeshire where we've had good experiences but no here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Piercefield also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Piercefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Piercefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.