We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Curry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sitar Balti

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sitar Balti
The Cellar | Beaufort Square, Chepstow NP16 5EP, Wales
01291 627351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 42 restaurants in Chepstow
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The setting is really good in an old arched cellar. Food & service were "bang on" We had a great meal in a super atmosphere!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    42
    15
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Great Find For Us In Chepstow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are often in Chepstow and looking for a meal before driving home after the evening rush hour. Sometimes difficult to find somewhere open at that time. This lovely Restaurant was open at about 5 45 and the waiters were just setting up .
They let us in a bit early and we ordered drinks and poppadums. These were hot and fresh and served with a lovely selection on the chutney tray. A shared starter, Chicken Chat was so tasty, and our main courses were excellent too. Add to this a lovely cellar setting and attentive, friendly polite staff,and you have the ingredients for a great Indian Restaurant. We were given complimentary liqueurs and the slices of fresh orange were a nice touch too. We had read the good reviews on Trip Advisor and are pleased to add one of our own. Thank you to all at Sitar, we will be back soon for your lovely food at a very reasonable price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This basement restaurant on the corner of the square was busy on a Friday night, a good sign. Friendly service, maybe a little slow, a very different atmosphere to the other main curry house in Chepstow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I found myself in Chepstow on my own last week, having travelled to see my mother and having delivered her to a Choral rehearsal. Needing supper I went searching for a curry! Locating the Sitar I expected a very quiet mid-week, mid-evening experience. What a surprise! The place was humming with families and couples and I felt quite out of place being on my own, an unusual experience. In the event the staff were brilliant, finding me a table staight away and delivering a superb meal, full of fresh spices and rounded off with a complimentary Sambuco! I was even offered another upon paying my bill! I will be back as soon as I can with my wife (and mum!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were recommended by several people. The food was excellent, full of flavour and good use of the many Indian spices. Very authentic Indian cuisine. All tastes well catered for those who don't like hot food have various options to choose from too. Some Indian sweets would have been nice. The staff are all excellent, wait on the tables well without being too over attentive. The Chef / Boss is always available to speak to diners. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar Balti also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Sitar Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitar Balti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.