We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Welsh Gatehouse

The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window
The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Wood Burning Stove
Bring luggage in small suitcases, it will need to go up these stairs!
Chepstow
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KingstonS...
Kingston Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This really was living in a castle....extraordinary. We had the whole place to ourselves, our own front door...it was really quiet, private, cosy and warm. The log fire was fantastic, the wet room works well, the kitchen was well equipped...we had an amazing time

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The historic house - built they say in 1270!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Darren F
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceed all our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Everything about the gatehouse met and exceeded our expectations, from the detailed directions supplied, to the welcome basket of welsh cakes and wine, to the tasteful and thoughtful furnishings, through to the tranquility of the garden. William and Juliet were attentive, and offered us the chance to stay for much of our checkout day too, since no-one else was coming in. The visitor's book reveals that Dr Rowan Williams (archbishop of Canterbury) has also been a saitisfied guest! We really can't speak highly enough of it.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LB&MW
Wales
1 review
“Excellent attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Welsh Gatehouse for two nights between Christmas and New Year. What a treat! It was perfect. From the outside that looks all old world like to the immaculate modern inside. It was cosy, and all the little things were thought of.

We spent hours sitting in front of the fire reading books with the cold and wet weather outside. How better to spend the Christmas break away from all the madness of family visits and January sales shopping!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The wood burn fire
Liked least: It was raining so we couldn't appreciate the view from the roof! Not their fault!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Maltesers...
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Really lovely. Having seen the photos and watched the video I had expected it to be beautiful but it was just enchanting. I can't think of any other way to describe it than that.
The small touches were great - the log fire was lit as we arrived and the owners had already kindly provided some basics. We only stayed one night but I would go back in a heartbeat and hope to whenever we get the chance.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The log fire
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2013
Thank you so much....really appreciate your review

Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
suevilla
merthyr tydfil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is the most magical romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

The Gatehouse was an amazing place to stay. Everything we needed was there. It was very central to many towns. We would go back in a heartbeat.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Loft Bedroom
Liked least: The spiders
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2013
Thank you so much...your review is really appreciated. I am glad you loved it as much as we do!

Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Andrew300...
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Return trip did not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Very, very rarely do we ever make a return trip, as we are usually disappointed. This place has been an exception to our 'rule', and we were far from disappointed. It remains magical, and this time we went upto the 'turret' section of the building, and had the most amazing views, and stood watching a squirrel playfully jumping in the tree below us.

We had a perfect time, the fire keeping the place toasty warm; the scones, jam and clotted cream tea will be forever remembered, as will the amazing drive up the Wye Valley with the trees in every hue of brown, yellow, red and orange.

All in all, the perfect weekend get away from London.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2013
It was great to have you back....and we really appreciate your comments (and I have only just learnt where I have to go on this website to thank people for their reviews!! Hence the delay in sending this response).

Thanks

Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
angussimp...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very special place, idiosyncratic and extremely comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

It's a unique place in a wonderful setting, almost everything is provided for you and the standard of all the furnishings and fittings is very high. We stayed for our honeymoon and it was exactly what we wanted after the stress of the wedding, totally relaxing.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The building.
Liked least: Perhaps the shower.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$249
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Juliet G
44 01291 638806
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 21 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing