We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great Chinese food with fab service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Restaurant

Shangri-La Restaurant
17 St Mary Street, Chepstow, Wales
+44 1291 622959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 restaurants in Chepstow
Price range: $17 - $51
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open on Mondays to Thursday 5:30pm to 11:00pm Friday to Saturday 5:30pm to 11:30pm Closed on Sundays
Kingsand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really great Chinese food with fab service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We arrived at 8.30pm on a Sat without a reservation and were squeezed in no problem. Food delicious, service attentive and good humoured and large table next to us provided floor show! Good food, good value, good atmosphere - stands head and shoulders above other places we saw in Chepstow. Would heartily recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    73
    17
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant Chepstow Chinese surprise :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a great pleasure to find a really good Chinese restaurant in this small Welsh town.

The service was very friendly and the ambience was just fine..

The menu combined both common and unusual Chinese and Malaysian items and was nicely different from the usual "British standard".

Each dish we had was presented very well and all were delicious.

We hope to return next time in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have read so many great things about this place and have meant to visit on a few occasions. Having made a few of my friends come along on a Saturday night, I was expecting great things. I was not put off by the fairly steep prices as looking around at the food coming out, it all seemed so promising. Anyway, we ordered a few courses - mixed starters for the six of us, a duck course and then a range of mains with the usual accompaniments.

The starter came out quite quickly and was as expected, good quality food and a fair sized portion. The duck seemed to take an age after this but we didn't mind too much. However, the main courses came over half an hour after this course had been cleared. Some dishes were incorrect and the portion sizes did not reflect the price charged.

I think part of the problem appears to be that some of the staff are quite young and inexperienced. If this is sorted, and the main meals are a little more generously portioned, then it has great potential. I will try again in a few months but must say, I'm disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Shangri-La Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Food is good service good but beware it gets packed in the summer so book a table. Not a lot of space inside but worth waiting for compared to Weatherspoon's across the road. Not up there with the best ever Chinese but for the area = good

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

After reading the reviews we decided to try this restaurant,excellant service really lovely food and a brilliant atmosphere,would definately return

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri-La Restaurant also viewed

 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Shangri-La Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.