We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunday Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chepstow
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's as nice as the photos make it look. Parking arrangements are a bit confusing on arrival (there's parking all around but not clear which is best for hotel rather than golf - turn left from the drive for the nearest). Staff were excellent, very nice pool with big and clean changing rooms. Both dinner in the bistro and breakfast were very good with lots of attentive and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Ask for view over the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    241
    102
    45
    15
See reviews for
83
263
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visited St Pierre last weekend as our overnight stay whilst the men were taking part in the National Tractor Run on Easter Sunday. The location was wonderful with acres of parkland and a rustic church right next door to the hotel. The main building itself was old and atmospheric but the bedrooms were modern and well appointed. We ate in the Zest restaurant on the first night which was slightly noisy and quite expensive for what we had. Also the steaks served up for the men in our party were a little tough. The next day my friend Janet and I walked into Chepstow after watching the tractors depart and after a pleasant coffee in the square and a stroll around Chepstow castle we got a taxi back to the hotel. Our next stop was the pool where we had a wonderful swim, a relaxing time in the jacuzzi followed by a rest on the loungers whilst reading magazines. That night we had booked a table in Morgans restaurant which does offer a 3 course meal for £26 per head. The service was impeccable and the food delicious, much better than Zest. We had a lovely weekend so thank you to St Pierre.

Room Tip: Get a room in the hotel or in the new block right next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a reasonable size nice room and very clean. plenty of options for food either quick pub or sfine dine. The location is excellent and the golf is even better. Parking was a bit of an issue close to reception although not a major problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Marriott for 1 night on Good Friday en route to visiting family for Easter. We requested a cot and a room close to reception and both had been organised before we arrived (in fact we had THE closest room to reception).

During our stay staff we're always obliging, helpful and friendly. I had a lovely pedicure in the spa which i'd highly recommend. We found that facilities for families were very good - our 2yr old LOVED the pool and changing for kids was available in both male & female changing rooms. Our son had a kids meal in Zest in the evening and we ate later in Morgans after he'd gone to sleep in the buggy (staff we're very happy to find us a quiet table).

We make this trip to visit family a few times a year and will definitely stop off at the St Pierre again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had booked some time away over the Easter long weekend, and having done a search on Tripadvisor, the Marriott St. Pierre came up as a hotel with good reviews in a nice countryside setting.

Upon arrival, the setting is indeed impressive. The hotel is essentially a manor house, attached to which there are more modern buildings, which make up the main guest rooms.

Check in was prompt and friendly and we were soon off to our room (in the main building, the Mathern wing). The room was OK but not up to Marriott standards I've seen elsewhere. The outbuilding itself (Mathern wing) is a bit tired (as was the room) and could do with some updating. However, for a couple of nights it was acceptable.

The real let down during the stay was the level of service at the Food and Beverage outlets. We ate dinner in "Zest" - service was rather slow and to be honest the food was unexciting at best. Lemon & thyme chicken turned out to simply be roast chicken in gravy and the Pasta in Chicken & Pesto cream was bland. To make matters worse, we witnessed two individual parties complaining to the restaurant manager about slow service....not a great picture to paint at all...

Breakfast was also a real let-down (Morgan's restaurant). Service was very slow and items on the buffet breakfast were not topped up (therefore not available - notably pastries and some of the hot breakfast dishes). Tea and coffee was weak with no taste (also noted by the couple across from us). The whole breakfast area had an air of chaos and stressed servers not really coping (despite some very apologetic staff members who did try hard). When we pointed this out it was noted that they had been hit all at once by a large amount of guests..sorry this is a holiday weekend and quite frankly contingency plans should be made accordingly.

This issue was brought up with reception, who, to their credit, were very apologetic and recovered the situation to the best of their ability. However, it does not detract from the fact that the service was below standard and especially that expected of a Marriott property.

The hotel has a Spa and indoor pool which both seemed good. Beer prices at the bar were ok - we didn't explore the wine list.

If you can get a good room rate and purely want to enjoy the Spa / Pool and the location (Chepstow nearby and worth a look), then St Pierre may be worth a look. Maybe we caught them on a busy weekend (not an excuse to be honest) but avoid the food outlets based on what we experienced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here one night ahead of a golf society event. The room was clean, comfortable, everything you'd expect of a Marriott hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The big plus was the breakfast. I've rarely had a nicer hotel breakfast than this. Well presented. Freshly cooked and huge choice.
Everyone else then arrived for the golf event and we were well looked after by the hotel and golfing staff. After a cold and wet day on the course, the service was again very good in the bar area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We dirty dozen went for a four day golf package. Excellent facilities and value for money. Room a bit tight for 2 sharing, but quality up to scratch. Excellent breakfast, and evening meals, with a snack at the half-way house. Service top rate the whole stay.
Old course played well, but because of the weather we had to hire hedgehog trollies or carry our bags. New course was too
wet for even hedgehogs..carry only. The spa, pool and hot tub were well used. Indeed this is a very busy place but they handle it very well. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: St Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.