We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsiderate kitchen staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow to your Saves list
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaufort Square, Chepstow NP16 5EP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chepstow
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Inconsiderate kitchen staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 14th April. Its situated in a really good spot. We had food in the restaurant and it was really tasty couldn't fault it. Its really oldy worldy and cosey. However, on the Sunday morning we were awoken at 8:30 by extremely loud music. We assumed it must be coming from a neighbouring building due to the volume. However, when we came down the stairs the music was be blasted from the kitchens. We did complain to reception who said they were going to have a word but it was to late at this point, we'd already been woken. Abit disappointed that we weren't offered a gesture of good will or discount due to the disruption.

Room Tip: Try not to get room 17 as its directly above the kitchen and it ruins your lie in due to the noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    22
    15
    24
See reviews for
23
50
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Beaufort Hotel is in the racing town of Chepstow nestled in the quaint little street of St Marys and there you will find this charming small hotel. It is cosy and inviting offering a delightful restaurant with good food and value for money, with helpful staff. Enjoyable place to stay for a short relaxing break.
Mr & Mrs Buchanan, Buckinghamshire

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

All of the food was cold and of a pathetic standard The woman who was serving our table stomped around the room and was rude to our party. When drinks were ordered that were not available this was not stated and an alternative was brought with no explanation. The worst meal and service I have ever had. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcvc, Owner at Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
This review is unbelievable,literally. Everything the "reviewer" says is directly in contravention of our normal restaurant food and service response from diners. I can only believe that this is a deliberately malevolent attempt by someone to discredit a very successful business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanharan, Wales
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were four couples enjoying a Six Nations weekend break.
From then time we entered the hotel we were cheerily and helpfully engaged by everyone at the Beaufort from friendly Chantelle at the front of the house to the excellent chef at the other end.
The management’s approach is commendably enterprising, from doing a good deal on the “group” booking to successful overtures to eat at the hotel rather than sample any other of the many pubs and restaurants in Chepstow.
The food was first class. We had very nice bar meals on the Friday night with a range of choice from battered cod to Madras curry. The full breakfast was a substantial start to the day with no qualms about several requests for more toast and tea. Saturday lunch offered lighter options and personally I enjoyed the home made tomato soup and bacon roll (£4.99). In the night we indulged in the a la carte with a good selection ranging from a delicious rib eye steak accompanied by a garlic and butter sauce to sea bass, with the bar meal menu still available.
Our rooms were a decent size - clean, warm and comfortable with a spacious bath/shower room.
An old hotel, the Beaufort has survived the evils of modernisation to retain its character, whist still providing an up to date service.
It had a lively atmosphere without being over the top, and on the afternoon of the big game a good crowd watched Wales defeat England with much laughter and banter that even the few white shirts among us must have enjoyed.
It is located right in the heart of the charming old town, a few minutes’ walk from the gate house and the castle (the town museum is also well worth a look). The Wye valley is a must to visit – drive north about ten minutes on the Coleford road until arriving at the Offa’s Dyke car park on the left, the footpath from which leads to the Devil’s Pulpit with stunning views of Tintern Abbey.
The hotel car park is easily accessed from the A48 and has spaces for about a dozen cars with a free public one across the road.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

On arrival we were greeted with a warm smile from a very nice man who directed us into a parking space, Chantelle on reception also greeted us with a cheery hello and was very helpful. Although the rooms were a bit dated it added to the charm of the place. We had a lovely drink in the bar before we set off for the races (good choice of beer). On our arrival back from the races we booked into the hotel for our evening meal, service was excellent and the steak was the best I have ever had.A big thankyou to the staff for their friendly welcome especially Chantelle .We hope to see you all again soon. Lyn & Terry Williams

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

If you go to the Beaufort for lunch, try the Omelets, they are absolutely gorgeous, the menu is excellent.
The Beaufort are also very good at parties, our family have had two or three parties here and the staff are brilliant and very friendly, they don't mind you decorating the room in advance, overall we have found nothing to complain about, but I must be honest and say we have no idea what actually staying there is like.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Just popped in for a quick lunch, we were met with a cheery hello and a warm smile by Lucy. She took our order and the food was delivered quickly. Relly enjoyed the food and service from all staff. Will definately pop in again. Thank you to all especially Lucy.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow

Address: Beaufort Square, Chepstow NP16 5EP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.