We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend hidden away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chepstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Valley Yurts
Save
You added Hidden Valley Yurts to your Saves list
Lower Glyn Farm | Llanishen, Chepstow NP16 6QU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend hidden away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A group of 5 friends, we have just returned from a 3 night break at this amazing glamping site. This is camping on a different level - beautifully decorated and comfortable yurts, extensive and well kept kitchen and bathroom facilities, all set in a literal hidden valley. Amanda and Peter are very helpful and friendly, as is Tilly the dog! Would highly recommend the massage treatments by Sally Kay - great way to relax in the surroundings. Will be sure to recommend to all! Amazing value for money too!!

Room Tip: Yurt number six is the most private - away from main kitchen but facilities for cooking were more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harwell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Myself, hubby and two girls have just returned after what was a truly excellent yurting break in the Hidden Valley Yurts. It was simply magical from start to finish: from our welcome and really exciting quad-bike lift through the stream to the yurts (my daughter screaming with excitment all the way) to our lift back up to the top this morning!!

We were six couples with four children in all (ranging in age from 4 months to 4 years). I was a bit worried about the weather as gales were forcast but because you're tucked away at the bottom of surrounding hills we were quite safe and toasty warm in the yurts. Amanda and Peter (the owners) couldn't have done anymore for us, it was glamping at its best! The dogs, sheep and alpacas were great fun too!! If hungry, The Carpenters Arms at the top of the hill is worth a visit (family friendly with yummy food, great service and good ale) Can't wait to come back..

Room Tip: All yurts are beautifully kitted out and extremely comfy!! If you forget anything, you can ask Aman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for being such great guests. I don't know how you mannaged to keep the yurts so clean with all that mud around - very impressive! Welcome back anytime. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Only 3 hours drive from the smoke and you are in a beautiful secluded Welsh valley! What a wonderful place run by lovey people, Amanda and Peter were soo nice and they really cared that we had a good time. We had mainly bad weather and they popped down to check that we were ok and had enough wood etc. They even brought a baby lamb down for the kids to feed the morning before we left to ensure they had a distraction from the rain while we packed up. The yurts are lovely and cosy the wood burners create this lovely log cabin type atmosphere (wood is free within reason). The solar powered lights are fab espechially the fairy lights - lovely touch! The walks are lovely, even though we only managed one due to the rain. We booked out all the yurts and we were 6 families who all had friends in common so it was easy going and we had a good time. We had kids of various ages and they were in thier element and had the time of thier lives running free in little groups around the place. The animals were another favourite pastime (bring lots of apples for the pony) The Aplaca, goats, sheep and the dogs Tillie and Spot had loads of love. We brought laptops, Ds's, books games so even in the rain we could all tuck oursleves away in the Yurt and read, really relaxing. We spent a lot of time eating as we over ordered on the food front! and had some lovely communal meals and a wonderful afternoon playing cards on the deck in the sun. Try the pizza oven which takes a few goes to get the hang of it, but the pizzas were great once mastered. The facilites were great and really surprisingly the compost loo was a pleasant place. The whole place is well thought through and put together with love. Amanada was always asking for suggestions on how to improve the place , but I thought it was perfect - the fully equipped kitchen was better than at home! the dishwasher was a welcome treat. Glamping is the way to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

What a great place!The Mongolian yurts are really beautiful and decorative, a real feature being the coloured hand painted wood.They are very spacious with ample sleeping for seven people and just have a lovely feel about them. There are plenty of comfy sofas and day beds that can pull out into beds for the evening and lots of colourful cushions and furniture to compliment the Mongolian style. We arrived on a very cold and rainy evening but within half an hour of stoking up the woodburner it was warm and toasty in there! (Logs and kindling are provided). They are very well insulated so it stayed warm and cosy well into the night.

The shared kitchen/bathroom space was fantastic and totally in keeping with the rural site being hand built from wood sourced from the surrounding area. Within that each yurt has it's own allocated individual fridge and cupboard space and then freezer, two cookers and plenty of pots, pans and crockery for all to share. A nice place to chat to other visitors but also large enough to do your own thing. The bathroom space was unexpected, with proper loos, showers and even a bath! Proper glamping! Look forward to using that next time. Solar powered too. There was also a pizza oven which looked fab, again for next time. Each yurt also had it's own little decked area with bbq so there was no shortage of great places to cook and eat.

The resident dog Tilly was great fun and a good host. She might want a few scraps in return though! She was very sweet, we felt as though we'd made a new friend there. There were also horses, rams, sheep and even alpacas in the neighbouring fields, including two very small babies only two days old!

Looking forward to visiting again. A luxury escape into the countryside and a real tranquil haven, for us only 40 minutes from Bristol! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review - so pleased you enjoyed your stay - Eli and Amos (the baby alpacas) are doing well and Tilly sends a wag. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was just treated to Hidden Valley yurts as the surprise venue for my Hen Party and I couldn't have asked for a better location. The valley is gorgeous, with its stream, maedows and talls trees making the spot secluded. The facillities are well built, clean and well maintained and the yurts themselves are beautiful and comfortable. I love all kinds of camping but even the most coy camper would find this luxurious, its the great out doors with cusions.
It wouldn't be suited to all hens because it's too far away from cilvilisation to go for a big night out in Newport or Cardiff. But if you like peace, comfort and an beautiful place to share a laugh around the camp fire then this is the one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you Jen, it was a pleasure to meet you all and we are so pleased that Hidden Valley proved the 'perfect' venue. Loved your description of the Great out doors with cushions - enjoy your wedding day and a happy marriage. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I, along with our 2 children a 17 year boy and 13 year girl have just returned from the most fabulous, relaxing and unique weekend break we have ever experienced.
We didn’t really know what to expect when we left Bristol and being only 30 miles away were surprised to find, hidden in a beautiful valley only accessible by tractor, this tranquil setting. As we arrived both Amanda and Peter (the owners) were there to greet us and take our luggage to our yurt. The attention to detail throughout the camp was fabulous and everything you could possibly need to make your stay stress less was immediately assessable.

All the yurts are beautifully decorated, and extremely clean and comfortable. We found the Yurt very spacious and we all had a comfortable bed without anyone having to draw the short straw. There was a wonderful wood burning fire to keep us warm and on the decking outside there was a chimnea and a built in BBQ.
The communal Kitchen area was spacious and very well equipped. Peter and Amanda have really made sure that everything you need is there, from communal crockery and sauces right though to a bread maker, 2 ovens( one gas and one electric) a dish washer and even an espresso coffee machine .In the kitchen each Yurt has its own designated fridge and cupboard space. The large communal eating area around the kitchen allows you to spend time enjoying your food at a leisurely and unrushed pace.
The showers/bath and loos were spotless and the solar heated water (backed up by an immersion heater) were hot and plentiful. The whole area was clean and well maintained .Again if you had forgotten any basics, on hand were some communal toiletries you could use.
The stream is a constant source of enjoyment for the younger children and there is plenty of room for children to run around without imposing on other families’ peace and quiet. We went canoeing at Symonds Yat which is only a half an hour journey by car, and there are plenty more things to do within a half an hour drive. In the communal area there is a whole book of ideas on what to do and where to go.
We did wonder whether our kids because of their ages would find it too quiet, in fact they enjoyed it immensely and it gave us all some quality family time.
For a relaxed break and an easy going atmosphere the Hidden Valley is an absolute must and we would like to pass on our thanks and congratulations to both Peter and Amanda.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We recenty had a 3 night stay in Yurt 1 in April. There were 2 families (4 adults and 3 kids) and the yurt was spacious enough to accomodate us all very comfortably. The site is lovely - there are no cars allowed down in the yurt field so the children could walk freely about. There is so much to do and explore on site and in the woods around that we did not need to go anywhere all weekend. We played in the stream, did short and longer walks finding ponies, alpacas and rope swings, went collecting firewood, built dens and made pizzas to bake in the wood burning oven. There is a great communal camp fire area and each yurt also has its own fire pit on the deck -perfect for keeping warm while sitting under the stars once the kids were in bed. This is a great way to surround yourself with nature with a lot of home comforts.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Nothing is nicer for us than sharing Hidden Valley with families that enjoy all that is here - it reminds us how we lucky we are to live here all the time. Welcome back anytime - guests like you give us the 'feelgood factor' in bucketloads. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Valley Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Yurts

Address: Lower Glyn Farm | Llanishen, Chepstow NP16 6QU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Chepstow
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Yurts Chepstow, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Yurts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.