We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we took the 'short cut' to Loch Rannoch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amulree Tearoom - CLOSED

The Amulree Tearoom
Cluarin Amulree, Dunkeld PH8 0BZ, Scotland
07729 629335
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, English, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Richmond, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So glad we took the 'short cut' to Loch Rannoch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

After leaving Richmond in North Yorkshire a few hours and a couple of hundred miles earlier I decided to leave the A9 for a more scenic route to the Loch Rannoch area much to my wifes' and mothers' annoyance. It was the first Saturday in September and along most of the A822 the weather was grim so when we came across the Amulree tearoom - you can't miss it on the left - we stopped. What a lovely little place with delicious home made food and friendly, courteous and prompt service.

Maigaidh and her staff were attentive and showed how nothing was too much trouble. Make time to call in to this little gem and, as my old mum and wife agree, you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great tea room where you'd least expect to find one !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's 10 am on Sunday morning and for the first time in weeks it's wet dream, and very, very windy Sunday morning in rural Perthshire and what do find but THE most charming tea room run by Maggie.
Great steaming cups of superb coffee- Glen Lyon.My husband had a "3 shot expresso" in ahuge mug! Home baked scones and delicious cakes and unfortunately a little too early to have what ever smelt so wonderful , cooking in the background for the lucky lunchtime customers.
Defintely will be going back , both for another chance to sample the food and also to have a better loo at the fabulous paintings adorning the walls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wee gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Amulree tearoom is delightful had a lovely lunch today soup to die for and home baking that couldn't be better. We were served very promptly be a well mannered polite young lady. I couldn't fault it. We will most certainly be going back. The views as your eating your lunch are amazing. 10 out of 10 we will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tea shop heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

In a small hamlet, feels in the middle of nowhere and great walks from the door. Scones were freshly baked and soooo good, if I didn't live several hundred miles away I would be back daily. As it was had to get a second to take home. Cakes looked amazing too but only so much room. Partner had sandwich and liked that very much too; good bread. Very friendly staff - though probably thought we were a bit non-communicative - a bit zonked after an eight mile hike, sorry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

As others have discovered, The Amulree Cafe is an exception restaurant in the middle of spectacular scenery. Although it was busy when we arrived we were served very quickly by very friendly waitresses. We were impressed that they cater for a gluten free diet. Our only regret is that it is a long way from Dundee but we shall visit the Sma' Glen soon just so we can have some more great hospitality in Amulree.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amulree Tearoom also viewed

 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amulree Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.