We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atholl Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Atholl Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 OAQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence 2014
scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed one night on a deal with a bottle of wine thrown in. Our room was spacious, looking on to main road. The lounge area was welcoming with a range of different armchairs and sofas and we enjoyed an excellent pint in the beer garden across the road from the hotel looking on to the river tay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the only downside was that it was a bit noisy on the main road in the morning. Also the breakfast was not the most generous or well presented that we've had. But an enjoyable stay overall.

Room Tip: avoid one looking out on to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. On a nice day there is nothing better than to sit in the garden overlooking the river. A walk to the historic cathedral is pleasant also.
We are now in our third year of ownership, renovating and remodelling when and where we can. I appreciate your feedback about how welcoming the lounge area is.
It would be interesting to know what you had for breakfast as we don't get many complaints about this. Was it a cooked dish or buffet not offering enough or both?
Next time you stay please let us know if there is anything you would like and we will try our best to deliver.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    110
    45
    15
    13
See reviews for
41
191
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you are in this area go to this hotel.very good breakfast and dinner and a very charming place.when we were there people met to make live music in the living room.it was great. the room was big and so was the bath.had a room under the roof with riverview.perfect

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Our team of chefs are also delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in our award winning RiverView Restaurant. All our dishes are made from scratch using seasonal produce arriving daily.
Glad to hear you enjoyed our weekly music session led by Doug and Hilary Law, this is a very popular night.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night thanks to Itison Voucher and had a great time at this hotel near Perth. We stayed in room 9 on top floor which had superb view of Tay River and car park. The room was basic and very clean with nice bathroom but shower was not very powerful. Noise from road outside wasn't a problem for us. Car parking was ample. There was also a lovely beer garden across road from hotel near river. Breakfast was tasty with the most perfect poached egg. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I agree, the view of the river makes your stay extra special. On a nice day there is nothing better than to sit in the garden overlooking the river. A walk to the historic cathedral is pleasant also.
Glad to hear your breakfast was perfect.
Next time you are visiting Dunkeld I hope you have the chance to experience our award winning RiverView restaurant.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Kind Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked a 'deal' too as we'd often passed through Dunkeld on the trip north to visit family but had never explored there. Reception, car parking arrangements and room were all fine. Staff we approached were very friendly and responsive. We were lured away by the venison sausages on the menu down the road at the Perth Arms so missed out on dinner and were then too tired with exploring to visit the bar but the breakfast was definitely first class.
Nice wee place to spend the day, the only negative was the noise from the amount of heavy vehicles using the suprisingly busy road, with the hotel being situated at the junction but overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Be aware of the noise from heavy traffic which starts @0530 hrs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Customer care is paramount at the Atholl, you will always receive a friendly reception.
Sorry to hear you missed having a meal in our award winning restaurant, I hope next time you are visiting you will choose to eat here. Our chefs work hard making everything from scratch and enjoy seasonal produce arriving daily. We also offer a tasting menu once a month which is a lot of fun, details are on our website.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just stayed a couple of nights in the Athol Arms Dunkeld on an "ITISON" 2 night deal with breakfast included. I can recommend this hotel for a stay in the beautifull Perthshire town of Dunkeld.The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was good, reasonably priced,beer too. The river Tay runs by the front door, and there is lovely woodland walks with benches dotted all the way along. Dunkeld boasts another 4 hotels/ bars.You are within close distance of Pitlochry or Perth/Dundee, so it is ideal for drives or just chilling out, we will be back.

Room Tip: choose a room with a river view, costs a wee bit extra. rooms are large and airy, bathrooms too with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I agree, the view of the river makes your stay extra special. On a nice day there is nothing better than to sit in the garden overlooking the river. A walk to the historic cathedral is pleasant also.
I agree, we are very central for a day or two out from Dundee, Glasgow, Inverness or further South.
Our team of chefs are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. They work hard making everything from scratch and enjoy seasonal produce arriving daily.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl. Remember to check our website for the latest deals.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel once before so were familiar with the area which is an absolute delight to explore. There is so much history around here with some truly excellent places to visit.
The hotel is ideally situated on the banks of the river and our room gave us excellent views of it.
On the night we stayed, the restaurant was offering a half price home made beer battered fish and chip supper which was excellent. The hotel offers a table d'hote restaurant, a bistro and bar snacks. so something for everyone. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Can recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. The hotel is on the main road and so could be noisy if your room is on the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I agree, the view of the river makes your stay extra special. On a nice day there is nothing better than to sit in the garden overlooking the river. A walk to the historic cathedral is pleasant also.
Our team of chefs are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. They work hard making everything from scratch and enjoy seasonal produce arriving daily. Our fish and chips Thursdays are popular so makes for a busy night. Next time you are visiting Dunkeld I hope you have the chance to experience our award winning RiverView restaurant.
Thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALDERDALE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

On our way home from a tour of the Scottish Highlands we stopped off at Dunkeld to have lunch at the Atholl Arms Hotel on the recommendation of a friend. We were so pleased we did! I had the venison burger which was truly delicious and my husband had fantastic fish & chips - we only wish we had an extra night spare to stay over and sample the dinner menu!

The staff were very friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere in the bar so when we are next in Perthshire a night at this hotel is definitely on our list!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you had the chance to stop at Dunkeld on your way back from the Highlands.
Our team of chefs are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. They work hard making everything from scratch and enjoy the seasonal produce arriving daily. You may be interested to know about our tasting menu once a month, always the 1st Thursday, Its a great night and all the information is on our web site. There is also a special rate for staying over on slow food Thursdays.
Thanks again for a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Atholl.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 OAQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.