We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dunkeld House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dunkeld House to your Saves list
Hilton Dunkeld House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER SALE NOW ON!
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Menstrie, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dont Go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were booked in for three nights in the General Wade building for a relaxing weekend break. The hotel grounds are stunning. The room was fine. Food was ok (definitely nothing special), hygiene was poor eg kitchen staff not in overalls and waiters wiping their noses and serving food.

The noise was horrendous, we complained on the first night (as did other visitors) as there was a wedding on in a marquee a short distance from our rooms. We asked if there would be a wedding on the second day, and we were told no. However as the night went on, we found that there was a corporate event in the same marquee until 1am.

This is not a pet friendly hotel, due to the noise.

We do not recommend Dunkeld Hilton, the customer is not priority and you will not have a good weekend. We left the hotel at 10.30pm on our second night, as the noise was unbearable (as did other visitors).

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dunkeld House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We have received your complaint via the third party you booked with and you will have received our response. We are sorry you declined recompense and your review and experience is certainly not what we want our guests to perceive. We are a pet friendly hotel and our customers acknowledge us for that service we provide and all our bedrooms are to a 4 four star standard. We would like to reassure guests that customers are our precedence and when errors occur we always try to resolve the issue to the best of our ability.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    445
    242
    138
    52
See reviews for
223
732
22
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for a night, the welcome drink was a good touch, and the luggage offer made us feel special, when we arrived to our room it was very dark and dank and somewhat chilly, however it was clean and delightful, very enjoyable, our first and only dining experience was a bit unorganized, we waited at least 45 minutes for our starters and at least the same between our starters and mains, although our plates weren't cleared our mains were still brought out, we were told by the asian waiter, that the reason why our food was taking so long was because, they were experiencing some "staffing issues", and one person has to cover alot of tables, in each section of the restaurant on their own and that we were to be patient, the young man very tall with the wild curly hair, (no name badge) who served our food, walked ever so slowly and effortless and slouching, almost as if he couldn't care, it took two attempts at getting the food to us, before he asked the Mandie where the table was, seems he didn't have a clue as to what table he was sent to, the food(main) was bland and cold, my girlfriend had to send hers back to be reheated, however the starters was good and the desserts were amazing, well done to the dessert chef! During the night there was quite a lot of noise coming from somewhere, we couldn't make out what it was, vibrations, maybe ventilation??
Breakfast - there was a wonderful atmosphere, well organised staff, coffee/tea, plate clearing done quickly and we were asked if we were okay and if we'd like anything else, which we found brilliant, Mandie was on at night time and breakfast, we had a nice wee chat with her about her adventure to Dunkeld and when we asked where to go she recommended the hermitage and the catherdral, both places we went to and enjoyed, she greeted us with a smile and orange juice, also was very helpful, attentive and friendly, seemed to know her stuff about the area and the hotel, she will go far in this business, definitely a peoples person and always eager to please, a good asset to your hotel!The coloured breakfast chef was helpful and very apologetic when a fellow chef was shouting and using an extensive amount of language from the back kitchen, luckily it was just me and my girlfriend and not a long que of guests, however the management of both shifts seemed to have been lacking, maybe its the staffing issue again?? Dot as nice as she is to us, we however think she needs to step back a bit and not get so worked up and harsh on her staff when it gets busy and stressful, but apart from the little things, we had a great stay at Hilton Dunkeld and will most definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dunkeld House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I would like to apologise for the behaviour of a select number of our team members and this is certainly not the level of service we want our guests to perceive. We are pleased this did not dampen your stay and you still had a fantastic time away. I have personally shown Mandie your review and your comments are a great motivation factor for her and she thanks you for your very kind words. We hope you will return again and thank you again for your review.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent and relaxing break in a fantastic woodland & riverside location. Good quality food and service and leisure facilities are first class. Return visitors to this hotel and we will be back again soon. Wildlife in abundance and central location for visiting surrounding towns or plenty to occupy you without leaving the grounds.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Bothy Room. Most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in. Excellent sized room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dunkeld House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are delighted that our hotel gave you a first class holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardineshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A weekend break was just the job for a relaxing break. This is set in beautiful grounds with a long driveway offering stunning scenery. The hotel itself is a large traditional Scottish former home with a more modern annexe adjoining it. Our room was comfortably furnished and quite pleasant with sofa and adequate storage, including a very neat tray of tea and coffee hidden away in a cupboard. The bathroom, although small was more than functional, and toiletries were of a high standard. Self service breakfast was very good and offered a wide range of food. Dinner which was included in our break was most pleasant, with the menu offering a good range. Steaks and other food from the grill was extra and seemed quite steep. A good range of wines were offered. I feel I must mention that our dinners for the two nights were made all the more charming with the help of our waiter, Wayne. What a star! He made us feel very, very special and we looked forward to seeing him the second night. All staff were friendly. I had pre-booked a hot-stone massage in the spa which was very good. Unfortunately, this was the only treatment I could book as I was told there was only one therapist on at that weekend. All in all a very nice weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dunkeld House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We wish to thank you for your positive comments regarding our team members, cuisine, spa facilities and accommodation. We always do our upmost to spoil our guests and have passed your personal thanks on to Wayne. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel a couple of times before a few years back and really enjoyed it. It was pleasing to note the welcome drink was still on offer and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and was nicely furnished with lots of toiletries in the bathroom. We were attracted back to the hotel because of its fine location and also because we now have a dog and wanted to bring her with us. The dog kennels are a great idea (and no, it wasn't ours that was howling all night, it was the next door dog !) and that alone would certainly bring us back, though there needs to be a watertight system for knowing whose dog is in which kennel in case it does howl or bark.
The service at dinner was excellent, perhaps showing that someone has acted on the poor service reviews given earlier. The food was fine but the wine very pricey. Breakfast again excellent with good service but my husband was very disappointed that the bottle of whisky that used to be beside the porridge wasn't there any more ! He had really been looking forward to that.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are out of earshot of the kennels and have a much better view (ie not the rear ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dunkeld House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Firstly and importantly Dot has replaced the Whisky for your husband’s porridge and apologise this was not replenished before your stay. Your stay is what we want all our guests to experience and we are thankful for your review. Hope to see you and your dogs again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhaven
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my husband and I always fancied having a night here, the grounds are fantastic and the setting on the river back is beautiful. First impressions on entering the hotel was disapointing, the wood panels on the walls were very scuffed and battered looking, drink on arrival was a good point. The room very clean and cossy, but wi-fi cost for one day was about £15!!! Food very good, but again the wood panels on the walls in the dinning room were really badly scuffed with chairs, the charis themselves could have done with a makeover! For this class of hotel we were very disapointed in the decor. Staff, food and cleanliness on the other hand very good. Probably wont go back for a second visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dunkeld House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are currently enhancing our reception area to make improvements within our hotel and this will be completed by the end of the month. I have passed your thanks onto our food and beverage team and housekeeping for the great comments and do wish you will reconsider returning in the future. Wi-Fi is free in our public areas and only chargeable in guest bedrooms. Thank you for your review.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here as a couple for two nights, cannot believe some of reviews on this site.Staff very polite and very enjoyable food served both at breakfast and evening meal with cosy bar and lounges.Yes drinks are not the cheapest, however, this is a four star establishment with leasure facilities in a superb riverside setting.We were more than impressed with the overall experience and well done to all staff-we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dunkeld House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It is an enormous delight for us that you enjoyed a perfect holiday at our hotel and elated you will return again.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dunkeld House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dunkeld House

Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dunkeld House 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate in the beautiful Perthshire countryside, on the banks of the River Tay. With a wide range of activities and facilities both within the resort and the local area, it is the perfect getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The hotel has 98 guest rooms, Livingwell Health Club, [comfort zone] spa and on site activity centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Dunkeld House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Hilton Dunkeld House Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dunkeld House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.