We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh bar food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Perth Arms

The Perth Arms
High Street, Dunkeld, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Dunkeld
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Have a look here: http://www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/dunkeld/dunkeld/index.html
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Fresh bar food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch in the beer garden on the recommendation of a local. It doesn't look much from outside and the bar is quite basic. The beer garden where we sat is secluded and comfortable. Food was fresh and tasty - we had a couple of Caesar salads, beef tacos and a lamb burger. Guinness was good too. Service was friendly. Will go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Well, here we are 3 years on from my first review of The Perth Arms and as I've stated in the title, this place just keeps getting better!

Our most recent visit comprised a party of twelve (and two dogs) We phoned ahead to advise of the number but, as usual, this posed no problem at all.

The specials prepared by chef, Denise were superb, I had the herb crusted lamb cutlets, medium rare and they hit the spot. Perfectly cooked! The others in the party enjoyed a variety of regular dishes from the menu, macaroni and cheese being very popular, as well as some of the other specials. None were a disappointment.

For the best food experience at the price in, or around Dunkeld make sure you pay this place a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres
1 review
“Douglas and June”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As regular visitors to the PA we find the service and food to be top quality - good home cooking with a variety on special dishes always on offer. Decor is 1950's style which makes a pleasant change from the usual pub decor and the wood fire adds to the atmosphere in the winter time .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birnam, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good simple pub fayre.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent choices, fresh ingredients and pleasant service.
Good atmosphere when busy.
Vegetarians well catered for.
Prepare for disappointment if you want a toastie after 5pm though!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcomes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

What a lovely find on our first visit to the area. We dropped in for a lunch to find a warm welcome for both us and our dog Saxon. He was immediately fed biscuits and a little bit of burger. The homemade soup and sandwich was fabulous and hit the spot after a long walk. We cant recommend this little pub enough

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perth Arms also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Perth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Perth Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.