We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self Catering Lodge is a perfect retreat for a relaxing break.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatton Grange

Hatton Grange
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunkeld
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hatton Grange
Save
You added Hatton Grange to your Saves list
Lower Hatton, Dunkeld PH8 0ET, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Dunkeld B&B and Inns
Livingston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Self Catering Lodge is a perfect retreat for a relaxing break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Three couples and two children ages 4 and 6 had a lovely weekend stay at "On Golden Pond Lodge" in the grounds of Hatton Grange.
Kate the owner was most helpful both on the phone when booking and during our stay.
We did not have mobile reception and Kate offered the use use of her phone to contact our daughters one who was running late and one couple who were lost !!!
The Lodge was very well equipped with everything you would need to cook a gourmet meal.
All bedding and towels were supplied. The dishwasher was great and the washing machine would be ideal if you were staying for a couple of weeks. I took a load of things with me which were not required.
The extended table could seat 10 but you had to move the sofa a little to make serving space.
The lodge is only 2 years old and the house was built 5 years ago.
The pond and burn are very pretty.
You can walk for miles up the hill. We saw deer a few times.
I cannot comment on the B&B but am sure if the standard is anything like the lodge it must be good. Certainly the reception hall was impressive.
The only negative I feel was the track up from the main road. However the potholes were in the process of being filled in and should now be finished, but hey! we are in the country.
Think this would be a perfect venue for a small intimate wedding or family celebration using both the lodge and house.
In conclusion get a few friends together and spend some quality time together in a beautiful comfortable country setting away from it all.
Book up now.
PS Kate has 2 of the friendliest sociable dogs in Perthshire

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    6
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This is our 2nd stay at the Hatton Grange, and we would highly recommend it. The house itself is set on stunning grounds and looks like a mini castle. Very nice welcome from Kate both on the phone and in person. The rooms are spacious and very clean and well presented and nice and warm, however not all rooms have en-suite and this is in my opinion the only negative thing I can comment on however this said there is a bathroom and a shower room avalible for use which feels like its your own personal space always clean and tidy with pleanty hot water. there is en-suite rooms avalible. We also had a look around the log cabin on the grounds avalible for private hire and it is beautiful and i look forward to using it very soon one day. The breakfast was very tasty great options avalible and was great way to start out day. Just a short drive to the town and the owner was happy to organise a taxi for us which was £18 return trip to local pub which was playing live music and was a great night out. All in all i would highly recommend staying here very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I have stayed in many places, all types and price ranges, this was by far the worst. You look at the picture of the place and think "should be good". How wrong can you be. The bedrooms were shabbily furnoshed, with someone else's clthes in the wardrobes. Towels werent changed, bins werent emptied, toilet plumbing a problem (I wont go into detail). Breakfast was stingy, the bacon smelled off. We had to share teaspoon at breakfast with other guests, that was before we were moved out of our seat and finish our food standing up when more people came in for breakfast. As nice as the lady was she just cant cope and should nt be running a B&B. How it gets any stars i dont know, whoever rated it should take a long look at themselves

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We booked 2 rooms at Hatton Grange through the Visit Scotland office in Pitlochry and were told it was beautiful. When we drove there later that evening down quiet country roads and saw quite an impressive house in lovely gardens we considered ourselves very lucky . The interior of the house was very nice also, so our disappointment with the rooms was unexpected. We would have left at that point but it was 8 pm and we didn't know if there was anywhere else nearby. The bedding was scruffy, mismatched and unironed. It was a feather duvet and pillows - completely unsuitable for anyone with allergies or asma. Unable to tell if the bedding was clean as it was so badly creased - brown sheets, white pillowcases, mottly mustard cover. Towels were old and shabby. Wardrobe contained owner's clothes. Despite being a double room there was only one cup in the room - no glasses for water at night, no tissues. We had assumed it was en-suite but had to share a bathroom. There was no shower . The blind was too narrow for the window so the curtains had to be drawn. There was a communal bar of soap for at least 4 people instead of handwash dispenser which would meet normal hygiene levels.
Breakfast was equally dismal - poor choice of cereal, one mushroom each, thinly sliced with bacon and egg and one quarter slice of toast each. The second supply of toast was burnt and inedible.
Our friends' twin" room was a single room with a put-you-up bed next to the single. You had to climb over one bed to the other as there was no space at all. To access the plug you had to lie along the bed just to make a cup of tea.
We were foolish enough to pay the full amount and upon leaving I stated that the "twin" room was in fact only a single and the owner launched into a verbal attack, even following us out to the car.
It was a truly appalliing experience!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

this b and b was recommended by the Scottish tourist Board as a 3* guest house our friends had a double room and we had what was called a twin room but this was clearly a single with a put u up bed squashed in next to the single bed .the bedding did'nt appear to be ironed we didn't realise we would be having shared facilities.The breakfast was a poor affair by any standard b and b we have stayed in. we have a list of complaints which we are taking up with The Scottish Tourist Board.This is the worst b and b we have ever stayed in,in over forty years.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibbiano, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

A very unpleasant experience in this b&b, located in a very beautiful scenery near Dunkeld.
We arrived, and:
- room not as expected (bathroom not ensuite as stated by phone, but shared with other guests. Ok, not a great problem...
- asked for breakfast time, answered about 9 am, the lady then told us: ok, 8 am... Uhm....not a great problem...
- room very cold (a rainy, cold september). We asked whether it was possibile to turn the heat on for a little while, just to re-heat ouselves after a long journey. Very rude & unpolite answers (the room is not cold, you DON'T have to touch the switch -by the way, the switch is at one's disposal inside the room, without any warning sign)
Note that this was contrary to all our previous and following experiences in the same holiday in Scotland: due to cold wheather, rooms were always carefully heated by the owners prior to our arrival.
After a little while, seeing no sign of amendment by the owner, we decided to pack everything up and move quickly to somewhere else. Of course, we refused to pay anything, not even the first night.
A place to avoid, if you're going to stay in the lovely Dunkeld district.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Grange

Address: Lower Hatton, Dunkeld PH8 0ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dunkeld
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hatton Grange Dunkeld, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatton Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.