We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatters Restaurant - CLOSED

Chatters Restaurant
58 John Street, Dunoon PA23 8BJ, Scotland
+44 (0)1369 706402
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $24 - $55
Cuisines: French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
dunoon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely cooked meal here while out with the family, only problem was expensive ad didn't taste expensive. We eat out a lot and this was our second place to eat. Will come back and try lunch menu out. All friendly staff and very clean with fires and a lovely wee area for per dinner drinks, keep up the good work and we will see you soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Dunoon””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

came here for dinner with my family and the food was superb we will be coming back next week with more of our family big thumbs up for chatters

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Argyll.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We eat in here regularly and the food is always superb. Even if you go in at lunchtime for a sandwich you are presented with something really special. The prawn open sandwiches are served with an amazing salad. Evenings menu is really imaginative and the quality of the food is excellent. Rosie the owner is lovely and always greets you warmly, all the staff are really attentive. The conservatory is lovely and cosy and a great place to relax with your coffee. It's a pity other restaurants in the area couldn't even be half as good as this. Excellent value for money and nothing is too much trouble for them. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Meal for 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Would like to say massive thanks to Rosie and staff at chatters resturant on saturday night soup was beautiful and it set us up nicely for our steak which was superb nothing is a problem to any of the staff everyone is so nice and friendly well worth a visit fantastic value for money and we will be back to visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An anniversary special...and special it was!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We found Dunoon to be a bit run down and were apprehensive about our intention to have a nice dining experience for our anniversary. Fortunately Santa had had an ipad in his Christmas stocking and this was our first holiday using on- line references.Thank you Trip Advisor for your recommendations. Chatters was superb. Intimate, friendly and with a wonderfully exciting menu delivering mouth watering dishes that matched their description. We enjoyed the amuse bouche proffered whilst our table and supper were readied and had a delightful chat with young waitress from Tignabruich. The dining room had small candlelit tables with fresh flowers and crisp linen napery. Freshly prepared delights followed. A gateau of vegetables and cock a leekie soup. Loin of roe deer and peppered sirloin steak. Fresh fruit pavlova and apple pie. Dessert choosing was difficult- we liked everything on the tantalising trolley!! Post dinner coffees saw us back in the little garden anteroom where an array of local crafts were on sale. Truffles, tablet and chocolates accompanied our coffees. WE HAD A FAB TIME!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatters Restaurant also viewed

Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
 
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatters Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.