We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good weekend away with friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmorag Hotel

Save Saved
You added Glenmorag Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenmorag Hotel
3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Dunoon
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good weekend away with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

just back from the glenmorgan hotel trvelled with david urquart coaches had a good weekend service was l good, the hotel staff couldnt do enough for us. food was good i dont understand all the bad reviews for the price we paid it was well worth it yes it is needing updated but it was clean, bed sheets spotless. clean towels every day we left on friday got back on mondat breakfast consisted of the waiter asking us if we wanted tea or coffee a pot each and toast there was fresh fruit cereal porridge fruit juice then the fry up which u could have what u want and the evening meal there was a choice of 3 starters three main meals and three puddings and we didnt wait on getting served either everything was well organised dont hink i would go back only reason being is me and hubby are bit young for bus tours but recomended for the older person there was eight of us there and all had a great weekend never seen so much water trees and mountains in my life thanks to charlie the bus driver u did a briliant job,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    65
    54
    20
    19
See reviews for
19
86
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day stay with David Urquarht coach tours.I read some bad reviews before we went so was prepared for the worst,but very surprised to find a lovely room(20)overlooking the Clyde.The staff were pleasant & helpful,& for what we paid was excellent value for money.the service in the dining room was excellent & food was good with plenty of choice.Would recommend front room excellent views,so summing up an excellent value for money hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The reviews I read before we went scared me. It is a rundown hotel but the staff were so good and very friendly. Meals were good and plentiful the soup was amazing every night , Wednesday I dont know what happened but a last minute menu change was disaster the only night all food went back . Raw onions in macaroni cheese and too hot coronation chicken . All other meals including breakfast were really good. Even a wee bingo night for those who like to play, David Urquart need to work on the inside to upgrade it though x

Room Tip: Local leisure centre in Dunoon offering pool,sauna,steam room and jacuzzi well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNFERMLINE
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel looked good in the brochure but was nothing like it. It's in need of being refurbished as outdated, the mattress on the bed is needing to be thrown away.On arrival we were told where our room was and to be aware of the wasps nest next to our room, only to find dead wasps all over the bedroom floor.We kept standing on them,until we got fed up waiting for a housekeeper and picked them up ourselves. The bathroom wasn't much better, as someone has thrown silicone paste all the way round the bath, covering holes where handles had been taken off, it wasnt clean either.Couldn't shut curtains properly as they kept coming down with slightest movement, so no privacey.They seemed to be short staffed but staff were helpful and seemed to be working very hard. We stayed here for two days and nights and no one came to the room to perform any housekeeping duties.Next to the room was a small door with "boiler room" on the door.This is probably why we were kept awake all night by a rythmic low pitched humming sound.We wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy and definately wouldn't stay there again .There are many signs of very poorly executed repairs throughout the hotel.The meals we were served with were also of a very poor standard.Maybe this hotel was one to stay at in the past,maybe around the 1960,s, but it has declined in a spectacular way since the glory days.The only good thing about this hotel we can think of is the way that the waiting staff work hard to deliver a service in adverse conditions.

Room Tip: No point,the whole place is "not good".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went to this hotel with my friend as it was recommended to us. What a let down. The room we had was on the first floor and was big enough, but very dated and tired. The bathroom was a disgrace. Black mould around the bath, floor dirty and behind the door had never been washed for years by the look of it. One couple went out and bought antiseptic wipes to clean their bathroom. Towels were quite new and clean so that was a bonus. The window in the bedroom was open and would not close and as we were facing the river the breeze just cut through us. We had a beautiful view of the river but that is really the only good thing we had.
The dining room was crowded and cramped and very cold. The food was awful and we had to eat out during the day as the evening meals were just inedible. Breakfast was cold and the toast was so thin it was like eating a wafer. Made from sandwich bread so more slices to the loaf !!
The hotel is on a very steep hill away from the town impossible for pensioners to walk up or down and this hotel caters more for pensioners. We had to take a taxi if we wanted to go out. The entertainment in the evening was ok and the drinks from the bar reasonably priced, although there was no waiter service.
We would never return to this hotel and would recommend that it be closed and refurbished, and a new chef employed.
Do not go to this hotel unless you want to lose weight.

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel was comfortable and friendly but service was poor area was nice a lovely view from dining room and ballroom company was good also the entertainment weather was nice for time of year I wouldn't go back to Dunoon its not as nice as it once was I was quite disappointed in how run down the town wasI travelled with David Urquhart the holiday was good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for one with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

hotel has gone down hill since our last stay oct 2012, needs a total refurb, breakfast was fine but tiny plate, dinners were terrible very very small portions wich were served in a very cramped dinning room,had to call takeaway later, very short staffed,sorry but wont be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenmorag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmorag Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.