We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters Quay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hunters Quay Hotel to your Saves list
Hunters Quay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   247 Marine Parade | Hunter's Quay, Dunoon PA23 8HJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have returned from a two night stay at Hunters Quay Hotel and we very disappointed by this establishment. We are extensive travellers and this is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a review.

Firstly it's not a hotel as I understand the term to mean, it doesn't even come close to the B&B's I've stayed in over the years. We felt like unwanted guests staying in someone's house as opposed to paying guests in a hotel.

When we arrived the restaurant was closed, we were not told this beforehand nor were we informed upon our arrival, there was just a printed statement in the dining room window. Dunoon is not overwhelmed with eateries although we were directed to a nice local brasserie.

At breakfast we were asked what we want to eat before we had even sat down and no menu was offered. This made us feel rather awkward and put on the spot, not a relaxing start to the day. I asked for Earl Grey tea and the response was 'I think I have some of that somewhere', I was amazed, it's not as if I was asking for something wildly extravagant.

Our room was large, with great views and the bed was comfy, but it was not cleaned nor was the bed made during our stay. Again, this is not hotel standard.

When my husband went to pay the bill on our departure there was a section on the card machine to leave a tip, he had never seen this at a hotel before and so just queried it with the owner. When my husband commented on this being unusual the response was "that'll be a no then". When do you ever leave a tip at a hotel when paying the bill?

The overall experience was disappointing and it did take the edge off what had been a lovely Scottish holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    33
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
93
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here in June with my nephews and niece the complex
Has everything you need and isn't to pricey swimming pool is great and the bar is well priced with a great selection of food for the kids if your going into Dunoon I highly recommend Clyde taxis as they were the best in town and they didn't take
The tourist route to get more cash from you unlike some of the others

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oohsun
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful three night stay at the Hunters Quay Hotel. Upon arrival we were met with a warm welcome from Francois, who for the duration of our stay was outstandingly helpful. We stayed in room 1 and the views across the sea were fantastic. We slept soundly each night with no disturbance from traffic etc. The Hotel is furnished to a high standard and is spotlessly clean. The Bedroom was large, airy and well furnished with ample wardrobe and drawer space, also free wifi. The Bathroom again was large with a corner bath and superb shower. Not knowing the area Francois was able to suggest different restaurants each night, along with booking a table each night for us, we ate fantastic quality food thanks to Francois. Breakfast at the hotel was superb, a fine selection of quality cereals fruit juices toast and a cooked breakfast if you wished.
Housekeeping could not have been more helpful allowing us to have a lazy Sunday morning after breakfast and making the room up later in the day.
All we can say is a genuine big thank you to Francois and the team at the Hunters Quay Hotel.
We will definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend the Hunters Quay Hotel to any traveller.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our charming host showed us to a large room in this classically decorated house, that overlooks the water to Glasgow on the other side, where we stayed for 2 nights. Our beds were very comfortable and cosy, so we slept well. The bathroom was very clean and had good water pressure. Breakfast was delicious and served in the lovely dining room, also with beautiful views. There was a range of cereal and yogurts, and we were offered a full Scottish breakfast, which was superb. We loved staying here and would come again. However, this is the first time that I have ever been asked to leave a tip on the room rate! The ferry operates from across the road, this does not cause any inconvenience and makes it easy to access if you come by ferry without a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last week for two nights. lovely setting , high standard of furnishings, comfortable rooms. Found it quite unusual to be asked what I wanted for breakfast the night before. The breakfast was one of the most disappointing I have ever had , in fact the second morning I got no cooked breakfast because making a single boiled egg seemed to be a major problem.
The hotel has potential to be good if someone could cook a simple breakfast.
N.B. the restaurant is not open in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks with my work in NHs. Was a great hotel. Stayed In Room 3. Most comfortable bed I have slept in. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Great breakfast and plenty of it. Highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from Hunters Quay Hotel stayed in this hotel due to work commitments. The hotel location was great. The hotel was spotless, all rooms furnished to a high standard. great showers and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast was first class nothing was too much trouble for the owners.Plenty of choice from cereals, fresh fruit, yougurts or excellent cooked breakfast of your choice.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel we received a very warm welcome from Francoise and Maria. If ever visit Dunoon in the future I have no hesitation in staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 6 is very spacious with 2 single beds and couch and large bathroom with corner bath and excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunters Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Quay Hotel

Address: 247 Marine Parade | Hunter's Quay, Dunoon PA23 8HJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Family Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and marvel at our spectacular views over the Firth of Clyde, Holy Loch, Loch Long and hills beyond. Set in an acre of mature gardens, this beautiful Victorian villa offers luxurious, spacious, individually styled bedrooms. The warmest of welcomes, with the friendly attentive service of the French owner and his local staff ensure a delightful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hunters Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Quay Dunoon
Hotel Hunters Quay
Hunters Quay Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters Quay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.