We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon
Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed 4 nights with GB Tours.,Great Holiday.Hotel in great position.Food,rooms and service.Entertainment needs upgrading as the entainers were passed their sale by date but still a laugh.As we were a coach party it would have been better to take dinner orders at breakfast time so save waiting time

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    129
    49
    18
    22
See reviews for
72
240
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spend a great time last weekend in his lovely hotel. Excellent location, lovely food, spotlessly clean plus great service from all staff. Thanks to Gary in reception and all staff for a great time. We will most definitely be back and would strongly recommend the Argyll Hotel to anyone visiting the lovely town of Dunoon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic weekend break at the Argyll Hotel. Room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful (especially Gary) and provided excellent service. Food was great and especially enjoyed the tapas in the Rio restaurant and great entertainment finished of a fab Saturday here. Will definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have enjoyed a fab weekend at the Argyll Hotel, Dunoon. Room 112 was beautiful thank you very much, food was great too haggis pakora, tikka masala yum yum. Staff very friendly. Entertainment Divas through the Decades, an amazing singer. Would definately recommend for a weekend away from it all. Also enjoyed a Quad Biking trip at nearby Quadmainia to add to our weekend. Top marks to all and many thanks again ;o))

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Lorna ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a excellent stay we both had the Michael Buble weekend was fantastic all the staff where helpful and polite could not ask for a better service. Louise and Gary on reception cool. restaurant staff polite and chatty bar staff the same We enjoy it so much we booked for the Freddie Mercury weekend and the Cowal Games thank you Argyll Hotel Dunoon see you all in May

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Iain & Ruth ,

It thrills me to read such great words of your implicitly great stay! Your special mention of the reception desk is very well taken. Since it is the face of the hotel, we expect it to be of the highest calibre. We take pride in our customer service quality and thank you for sharing that it is equally received in a similar fashion.

We look forward to your next visit in anticipation.

Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

stayed here on valentines night the room was clean and nice ,bed was comfy too which is a bonus , we also ate here in the bar they had curry on the menu which in most bars are generally just basic standard, however both the currys and starters was the best ive had in ages ,we was previously going to have steaks but soon changed our mind when we found out the chefs are indian , would definitely have a curry here again , cant say much for the breakfast the next day though bacon was pale and very fatty undercooked rind and cheap sausage this hasn't put me off going again though I will just sick to egg on toast :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Weekend glasgow great deal break 8 people ages 5 to 70. Brilliant break food the best I've tasted from the Italian on the Friday evening to the meal on the Saturday night. All piping hot and great choices. Very reasonable bar prices. Amazing staff who can't do enough for you my dads 70th and my sisters 40th hotel even provided a cake on the Friday night and reserved a table for all of us for Saturday night and breakfast on the Sunday. Full cooked breakfast hot and really good. This hotel is a wee gem. Rooms are comfortable and spotless. Whole experience was brilliant. Can't wait to go back. My brother in law left his phone and the hotel posted it back. Amazing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Maureen,

Warm greetings and thank you having chosen Argyll Hotel as the hotel of choice and for having taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor relating to your recent stay.

We are delighted to read your comments and to note that you enjoyed the feature, facilities and services provided by our Team Members.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon

Address: Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dunoon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.