We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Faulty Towers weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon
Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
1 review
“Fun Faulty Towers weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just finished a two night stay for Faulty Towers murder mystery weekend great value for money, staff friendly and very helpful,rooms clean and kept to a high standard, food great and entertainment was brill all round fab weekend away and would recommend to friends and family. Best £99 ive spent in a long time : )

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.
Looking forward to welcome back .

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    129
    49
    18
    22
See reviews for
72
240
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
blantyre
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel two weekends ago, it was a Freddie Mercury tribute night on the Saturday, we had a superb time. From the moment that we arrived on the Friday until we left on the Sunday the staff could not do enough for us. A special mention to Dev Surya General Manager, thank you so much for the special attention you gave to my Mum. My mum has been very ill this year and you were so nice to her, even coming around from the other side of reception to give her a hug as we left for home on the Sunday, she was so touched by your kindness. The meals at the hotel were very good and plentiful and we all cleared our plates at every meal, there was always something to suit. The table service was very efficient and all meals were delivered with a smile! All the staff were very pleasant and a credit to the Hotel. We did not have our lunch in the Hotel, however any other guests that we spoke to all said that their meals were both very reasonable and well priced. For a Hotel the drinks at the bar were not too expensive with a bottle of wine priced very reasonably. Overall a super weekend, thank you to all and hope to see you all again soon, Alan Ferguson, Blantyre.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Live this hotel. So central and food fab too . It's right next to the amusements which has the two penny falls. Takes me back to my childhood days. Located at top of Main Street so ideal
For shopping .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

General Manager
Dev Surya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our forth stay at this hotel and every year it has been excellent. Staff are always friendly and very helpful. During this stay I reported on the Saturday morning that the light above the mirror in the bathroom was not working about three hours later it was fixed, you don't get this kind of service even in the big hotels. Can really recommend the weekend deals like the Murder Mystery and Tribute Weekends always outstanding value this year £119 for two nights DBB. Drinks are reasonably priced compared to the usual hotel prices. The General Manager, Dev Surya, seemed to be around all the time and ensured everything was OK. Will return and maybe try the Paranormal Weekend that's if we can pluck up enough courage.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our 4th visit to this hotel. We have been coming each year to the Murder Mystery Weekends with some friends. This year we thought we would try one of the Tribute Weekends, the Freddy Mercury one. We were well looked after and were impressed the high standard of service and friendliness from the bar and waiting staff. The General Manager Mr Surya could not have been more helpful. The food was great and had been given a lovely room with a 4 poster bed. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the river as the rooms on the main street side can get very noisey at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a great stay in a clean and comfortable room,lovely food and helpful and friendly staff.Unknown to us it was a tribute night on the Saturday,Freddie Mercury, so we joined in and had a wonderful time, along with other friendly guests we met there.Everyone seemed to enjoy their stay and I can recommend it!
Great value too, at £99 pounds DBB and we had an extra deal with free wine which was terrific!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice for four nights over the last 3 weeks whilst working over in Dunoon. Lovely hotel, staff extremely helpful. Excellent location. Food excellent and the pints of Stella are not too bad either!! Working all over the country I stay in a fair amount of hotels, the Argyll hotel is definitely one of the better ones I've experienced. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon

Address: Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#2 Family Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.