We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder Mystery Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon
Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Murder Mystery Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for the murder mystery weekend. We had booked it several months in advance due previous murder mystery weekends being fully booked, and I can say it was certainly worth the wait.

The hotel is lovely, we opted to upgrade to the tower room and were not disappointed. Spacious, clean and comfortable. The food at the hotel was outstanding, I was very impressed considering I'm such a picky eater.

The staff were exceptional and nothing was too much hassle for them. We asked for a fan to be put in our room as it was such a hot day and this was done in no time at all. The bar staff are a credit to the hotel also.

The management is first class - I've never come across such great customer service in any hotel I've ever been to.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, In fact before we left, we booked up again for another murder mystery in November and we are looking forward to it already.

The murder mystery team were awesome and were thoroughly enjoyed the production.

The Collins'

Room Tip: upgrade to the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,


Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    130
    49
    18
    22
See reviews for
72
240
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just home from a four night stay at this Hotel.
Quick and efficient check in with a friendly male member of reception. Food was excellent in both restaurants and the staff again all very friendly. The Manager Dev was lovely and took time to make us feel really welcome along with the other guests. Room was clean and bed was comfy. I would definitely return to this hotel.
P.S Amy says thanks for the fruit shoot Dev :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.
Looking forwards to welcome you in due course of time .

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a ball..Thought I made a mistake in booking when we seen two hen parties. but staff and customers made it a great wkend..entertainment was good..actors where fantatastic as was food .also really good value for money we will be back

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just returned from the murder mystery weekend in Dunoon's Argyll Hotel with the "hens"........what an absolutely fantastic time we all had.

The service was exceptional, the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our every need. The food was amazing and great value for money. Rooms were very clean & comfortable.

The best thing about the Argyll Hotel is that it's a stone throw away from the ferry and right at the start of the Main Street.

I would recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

My thanks to all and hope to see you very soon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Party of 6 stayed fri-sun for murder mystery weekend which was superb value for money, two nights with breakfast & 3 course evening meal. Rooms were very clean & spacious. Hotel in general was very nice. Staff were extremely helpful & friendly. The food was very good quality. The entertainment was amazing-the actors were superb from start to finish. The band & DJ were also great. Overall, can't fault this hotel or deal on anything. Top notch :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just back from a fabulous Murder Mystery Hen Party at the Argyll Hotel Dunoon. The Staff couldn't have been more helpful and made sure we all (22 of us) had a weekend to remember. We were a very mixed age group and they catered for all of us. The food was very good, rooms clean and well decorated and entertainment laid on both nights. It was excellent value for money. Just want to say thank you to everyone who made this a great weekend for the bride to be and would recommend this hotel for a Hen Party.

Room Tip: Had a room looking onto the main street so it was a bit noisy with the locals at night but as we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a great hotel for a family with young children - our family room gave each of our young boys their own bed to sleep in rather than sharing. The staff were excellent and very welcoming. I wouldn't say the breakfast is the best but their adjoining restaurant was super and would def recommend. Also a great location with a proper British sea-side feel. Would re-visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards

Dev surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon

Address: Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#2 Family Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.